Various and Sundry

5 12 2011

Well, it’s been a while since I wrote anything here (and that’s a major understatement). Anyway, still living, still breathing, still writing.  My family’s just adjusting to becoming a household with two working parents instead of just one now that Christine’s gone back to full-time. This has had its challenges, but overall, been a great thing. In fact, we probably get to spend more, and better quality, time together now as a family. Previously, I worked through the week, while Christine worked weekends. This allowed us to avoid childcare for the boys while they were young, but we tended to not see too much of each other. And having both the boys at once without a partner could be … overwhelming … at times. Together, I think we’re both less frazzled as parents. We’ve even been able to give each other some much-needed time to ourselves. She’s been able to see movies and visit with her sister minus the kiddies, and I’ve been able to get in a few solo fishing trips and hikes.

Speaking of changes, I started that new writing/editing job as mentioned in my last post, and I love it. It’s a complete change of pace, sometimes working with very different forms of writing than I am used to, and every day is something new.

Also, due to all these changes, due to the fact that life’s been busier than ever, I do have some news to relate: I recently stepped down from my post with Fantasy. With the recent merger of Fantasy and Lightspeed, the merging of these workforces, and my increased workload with my day job, I felt it was the right time to step down. I’ll miss working with that crew (they are an amazing bunch of kind and dedicated people), but I really felt I would have been doing everyone a disservice if I stayed on. I was getting a little distracted. I need to devote more of my time and energy elsewhere right now, namely to my day job and family. Also, I was finding myself losing all of my personal writing time, and I missed it.

Speaking of Fantasy, I recently interviewed Nike Sulway: http://www.fantasy-magazine.com/new/new-nonfiction/author-spotlight-nike-sulway/

And I think that’s about it for now. I promise it won’t be quite so long between posts this time. I plan on posting my “Best of…” list for 2011 soon, at the very least. Besides, I may actually have some time to blog again. In the meantime, I hope all of you are well and enjoying the season.   

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

