Updates

12 08 2010

We’ve been having a busy week.

My oldest started back to school today. Hard to believe the big guy’s already in 2nd grade. Time flies.

Tuesday we took a quick day trip to end off the summer by going to Huntsville, AL, where we visited the Huntsville Space and Rocket Center. There was a really cool travelling Star Wars exhibit there. We saw lots of costumes, props, models, and were even able to take a trip as a family in the Millenium Falcon. Cool stuff! Especially for the little guys. We learned about maglevs (even built one with Legos), how to program robots, and how surprisingly small Harrison Ford, Natalie Portman, and Ewan McGregor are in real life. If you look behind me in this image, you can see I am actually bigger than Harrison Ford was when he filmed the Star Wars films, and I’m not that big of a guy (a little over 5’9″ and around 170 lbs.). Since he was one of my heroes as a little boy (this is Han Solo and Indiana Jones!), I was kind of surprised by this for some reason. I guess I imagined he was about 7 feet tall as a kid.  I have to say that the guys who played Darth Vader and Chewbacca were a couple of really huge dudes. Those were some massive costumes. Darth Vader really was an imposing figure. The exhibit was a really good time. The rest of the museum is something to see, too. Educational and fun. Definitely worth checking out if you’re ever in the Huntsville area. We’ll be going back. 

On the writing front, my Author Spotlight with Gary Kloster was published today on Fantasy Magazine.  I also went ahead and posted this week’s Southern Fried Short, Mirror Image.” This is a really brief one this week, it should take you less than 5 minutes to read. 

Tomorrow, I’ll post a few book reviews with my 6-pack rating system — a few brews just in time for the weekend!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment