UPDATES

13 04 2010

Life in general has been a hectic mess, but a good kind of hectic mess. Anyway, here’s some some quick updates as bullet points (I’m typing quickly and cooking at the same time, so bear with me):

  • Still working on my paranormal suspence novel, tentatively titled Touch. I’m about 10,000 words in and it has been slow going. My youngest no longer naps so I’m trying to adjust my schedule (previously I could count on a good 4-5 hours of writing time on the weekend that has suddenly disappeared). Free time for “butt in chair” sessions has been hard to come by lately with all that is going on with these wild boys (not to mention we all have a bit of spring fever and want to spend all our time outside).
  • Finished drafting my acid western novel Consumption in the Land of Endless Sands and sent out my first query for it this weekend with a very reputable small press I respect a ton that puts out some great stuff and has a nice and diverse catalogue.
  • Still querying my crazy YA zombie/steampunk/UFO/bigfoot/romantic survival narrative The Diary of Caleb Christopher, the few responses I have received so far have been mostly favorable. I am still very optimistic about placing this strange book. I think it has a lot of potential (but admit to a certain bias, of course).
  • “this electronic life,” an experimental SF story set after the singularity sold to M-Brane SF and should be appearing in the upcoming May 2010 issue. I’m proud of this story and really appreciate that Chris is giving it a chance.
  • “We Are Us,” will be appearing in the anthology While the Morning Stars Sing from ResAliens Press. There is a scheduled release date for sometime in May.
  • My free weekly short-short experiement Southern Fried Shorts is going strong. I’ve got some really strange stuff lined up for the next few weeks.
  • The Spring 2010 issue of Illumen will be available through Sam’s Dot soon (after April 20th) and features a few of my poems.
  • I had a poem accepted for inclusion in the upcoming anthology, The Best of Every Day Poets.
  • Oh, and last, but not least, I had a poetry collection accepted by Philistine Press. Isotropes: A Collection of Speculative Haibun, will be available and free to read on the Philistine Press website soon… 
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

