I Heart Mystics

12 01 2010

I’ll admit to having a soft spot for mystics in both fiction and real life. I appreciate a mystic’s devotion to thought and to worship and their dedication to seeking out something resembling truth. Sure some mystics may be a bit eccentric,sometimes their worldviews may be a bit skewered, and sometimes, unfortunately, there are mystics who are flat out nuts. Yet, mystics can often offer very real wisdom. At the very least, a mystic is never boring.

My current WIP is growing more and more mystical in its narrative. As research, I revisited William Blake’s The Marriage of Heaven and Hell (read it for free: http://www.levity.com/alchemy/blake_ma.html).  Here’s a few pearls of wisdom from one of my favorite poetic mystics that I just wanted to share:

“The bird a nest, the spider a web, man friendship.”
*
“Every thing possible to be believ’d is an image of truth.”
*
“If the doors of perception were cleansed every thing would appear to man as it is, infinite.
For man has closed himself up, till he sees all things thro’ narow chinks of his cavern.”
*
“The man who never alters his opinion is like standing water, & breeds reptiles of the mind.” 

After reading Blake’s treatise (which still speaks fairly clearly to a modern audience, in my opinion), I wrote this line (not sure if I can use it in my WIP or not), and humbly would like to share it here: The Road to Truth is paved by Contradiction.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

