A Music Post & What I’m Up To

21 11 2009

Last week, I started a new novel-length project. Tentatively titled "Consumption in the Endless Desert" (I may have to change this because it makes me think of a huge "Man vs. Food"-style sundae for some reason), this novel is an Acid Western. It has been refreshing to explore a new genre. So far, the story is writing itself. I’m digging down into the old subconscious and making it visible. The process has been unnerving at times, but kind of beautiful, too, I hope. Also, the more I research, the more this thing is coming together. I’ve read quite a few "Coyote" stories, and I think the idea of a "Two Spirit" will play pretty heavily in this story. The unreliable narrator whose perspective I’m using is quite a challenge to write. I just hope I can pull this thing off, because the bones are very nice so far, in my own (biased) opinion. In many ways, this is the most ambitious project I’ve ever started. The structure is not straight-forward and the story is being told mostly through imagery. It’s a pretty bleak story, fitting the desert landscape. I’ve noticed most of what I write is bleak for some reason these days. I don’t know why that is? I’m actually a pretty happy well-adjusted fellow for the most part.

I’m hoping to write a couple chapters over the weekend. The word count is a little over 3000 words (not counting outlines and notes), and I would like to see that number go over 6000 by Sunday night. We’ll see. I’m not going to rush this one. It requires too much thought and research between scenes and chapters to be rushed. While it is a surreal story and setting, I want to be sure I get my imagery just right.

Here’s a good writing soundtrack for the mood and tone I’m trying to capture with this book:

Radiohead, "How to Disappear Completely": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UR-K4k6tDi4
Fleet Foxes, "Tiger Mountain Peasant Song": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S30VNeEhFP4
Grateful Dead, "Friend of the Devil": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XacvydVrhuI
Modest Mouse, "Perpetual Motion Machine": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbxVVBKrPoM&feature=PlayList&p=896BDDFBA9A437D8&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=46
Metallica, "Unforgiven 2": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyCClNPjVac&feature=fvst
Ministry, "Lay Lady Lay": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjGRIWNcZG0&feature=related
Bob Dylan, "Knocking on Heaven’s Door": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRiMZgzp3wU
Tomahawk, "Ghost Dance": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DzwCBCcIMw&feature=related

…and that’s enough goofing around on the internet for one day…

Have a great weekend!

Actions

Information

17 responses

21 11 2009
xjenavivex

This is a great process post. I enjoyed it. I am excited about your project. I write my best bleak stuff when I am happy. I enjoy writing dark and it doesn’t pull me down so much then. Have an awesome 3K weekend. I love research. This just sounds wonderful. I will have to come back and check out your play list. I am not long for LJ today. I need production.

Have a good weekend. Oh you might want to shoot a blurb over at Western Writers about this post. They might love it.

21 11 2009
xjenavivex

This is a great process post. I enjoyed it. I am excited about your project. I write my best bleak stuff when I am happy. I enjoy writing dark and it doesn’t pull me down so much then. Have an awesome 3K weekend. I love research. This just sounds wonderful. I will have to come back and check out your play list. I am not long for LJ today. I need production.
Have a good weekend. Oh you might want to shoot a blurb over at Western Writers about this post. They might love it.

21 11 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! I went ahead and cross-posted this to Western Writers.
I’ve been spending too much time online today myself. I understand. Procrastinating can be so fun sometimes.

21 11 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! I went ahead and cross-posted this to Western Writers.
I’ve been spending too much time online today myself. I understand. Procrastinating can be so fun sometimes.

21 11 2009
xjenavivex

This is a great process post. I enjoyed it. I am excited about your project. I write my best bleak stuff when I am happy. I enjoy writing dark and it doesn’t pull me down so much then. Have an awesome 3K weekend. I love research. This just sounds wonderful. I will have to come back and check out your play list. I am not long for LJ today. I need production.
Have a good weekend. Oh you might want to shoot a blurb over at Western Writers about this post. They might love it.

21 11 2009
selfavowedgeek

Good post. That novel idea sounds yummy. Coyote rocks.
I dig your playlist there.
Here’s what I’m listening to:

21 11 2009
southernweirdo

Great song! I’m a huge Tool fan.
Yes, Coyote does rock. He also disturbs a little bit.
There’s a great article in this book that has proven very useful in my research for this project: http://books.google.com/books?id=H3Eocyu17OAC&pg=PA88&lpg=PA88&dq=sex+and+gender+coyote&source=bl&ots=ydRzZdVi1i&sig=MVy76ez120iDEl7_4Vhf_WKNRKQ&hl=en&ei=LzcIS92KHdK0tge1maCwCg&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=3&ved=0CBIQ6AEwAg#v=onepage&q=sex%20and%20gender%20coyote&f=false

21 11 2009
southernweirdo

Great song! I’m a huge Tool fan.
Yes, Coyote does rock. He also disturbs a little bit.
There’s a great article in this book that has proven very useful in my research for this project: http://books.google.com/books?id=H3Eocyu17OAC&pg=PA88&lpg=PA88&dq=sex+and+gender+coyote&source=bl&ots=ydRzZdVi1i&sig=MVy76ez120iDEl7_4Vhf_WKNRKQ&hl=en&ei=LzcIS92KHdK0tge1maCwCg&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=3&ved=0CBIQ6AEwAg#v=onepage&q=sex%20and%20gender%20coyote&f=false

21 11 2009
selfavowedgeek

Good post. That novel idea sounds yummy. Coyote rocks.
I dig your playlist there.
Here’s what I’m listening to:

21 11 2009
jongibbs

Sounds like you’re off to a good start πŸ™‚

22 11 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! I hope so. Self-doubt’s been hitting me a little over the last two chapters, but overall, I think it is working out. Re-reading those chapters today, they’re not too bad, I guess.
It’s just so hard to capture something on paper like it looks in your head sometimes, you know?

22 11 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! I hope so. Self-doubt’s been hitting me a little over the last two chapters, but overall, I think it is working out. Re-reading those chapters today, they’re not too bad, I guess.
It’s just so hard to capture something on paper like it looks in your head sometimes, you know?

21 11 2009
jongibbs

Sounds like you’re off to a good start πŸ™‚

22 11 2009
camillealexa

Good weekend to you too!

22 11 2009
southernweirdo

Thank you πŸ™‚

22 11 2009
southernweirdo

Thank you πŸ™‚

22 11 2009
camillealexa

Good weekend to you too!

Leave a Reply

