I Love October

2 10 2009


Autumn is my favorite season. The air cools, leaves change color, and it is by far my favorite time of year to take long hikes, to commune with nature and those things that are larger than myself, and, yes, I feel a little closer to God and family. I don’t know why that is? Maybe I’m just grateful that summer’s muggy humidity finally fades and it is more comfortable to spend time outdoors again.

And there’s something about those October nights,something about the way the wind blows as the cold fronts start storming through in preparation for winter, something about the smell of dry leaves and dying brush fires, something about the way the moon seems so bright in such a dark sky that just makes me feel alittle more alive, a little more creative, like anything could happen.
 
I love to visit The October Country. Every time I go there, I feel a little more like myself.

In honor of Mr. Bradbury, after having re-read some of my favorite stories of his, I wrote a few of my own a couple years ago. A few of these Bradbury-inspired tales are now available online:

"Stagehands" was published this summer in Three Crow Press, and"Soulless" was published today in The New Flesh Magazine.*

*Note: If you like what you read in The New Flesh, you may want to consider picking up Toe Tags, a nicely illustrated anthology put out by the same editor, William Pauley III with Brian Barnett. Toe Tags includes my short story "Grief."

 

Actions

Information

10 responses

2 10 2009
xjenavivex

I enjoyed Soulless. Please repost this in LL if you have the time.

2 10 2009
xjenavivex

I enjoyed Soulless. Please repost this in LL if you have the time.

2 10 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

Will do.

2 10 2009
xjenavivex

I enjoyed Soulless. Please repost this in LL if you have the time.

2 10 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

Will do.

2 10 2009
xjenavivex

I enjoyed Soulless. Please repost this in LL if you have the time.

2 10 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!
Will do.

2 10 2009
xjenavivex

I enjoyed Soulless. Please repost this in LL if you have the time.

2 10 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

Will do.

2 10 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!
Will do.

Leave a Reply

