9 Review (Possible Spoilers?)

13 09 2009

In response to yesterday’s post, I decided to take my son to see the movie. (Many thanks to

and

for their reviews yesterday.) It was a gloomy day, and we couldn’t really do too much outside because his allergies have been really bad lately.

He loved it! His review: "It’s awesome! I want to see it again RIGHT NOW!"

Yes, there were some scary bits, but nothing worse than what is in most of your average SF/F video games. I don’t know if I would have taken our two-year-old to see it, but a six-year-old handled it fine. I think it disturbed me more than my son. I considered the depressing connotations (there is a very nihilistic worldview in this film in many ways), while he focused on the visuals.

There were some plot holes. (Sock puppets? Really? This is the best possible container we can think of for the insertion and survival of humanity? Really?) Visually, the film was stunning. The computer generated world just sucks you in from scene one. There is a real sense of wonder throughout the movie, and some truly inventive villains. I loved the villains more than the good guys in a lot of ways. The flying airship snail-looking things were cool. And that creepy cobra creature? Wow. The pacing was excellent, and made for a fun ride. My review would be four out of five stars if you go by that sort of system. Well worth watching, and perhaps even watching again once out on DVD for the little details in the backgrounds I probably missed the first time through. I know my son will want to buy this DVD when it comes out. The only thing holding me back from a five out of five review is the plot holes. But the plot holes aren’t too much of a detriment in a film like this, and I don’t think many kids below the age of sixteen or so would even pick up on them.  It is an exciting otherworldly adventure. The movie does everything it needs to do — it entertains and pulls you out of reality for a little bit. Kudos for that!

It reminded me of some of the darker movies I grew up with like The Dark Crystal and Time Bandits. I loved those films as a kid. They pulled me out of reality for a moment, made me laugh, made me cower at times in fear, all the while I was comfortable that it was just fantasy and not reality. I still love those films as an adult, but the darker undertones, especially in Time Bandits, stand out a lot more now than they did back then. 9 is a movie that I could see being the equivalent of one of those darker children’s classics for my kids’ generation.

Highly recommended. Just be prepared to have a talk with your kids before and afterwards about fantasy versus reality. I told my son upfront that it takes place in a world where all people are dead, a fictional world. He asked if there were going to be bodies and skeletons? I said "Yes, most likely," and worried he might get a little scared. Instead, he said "AWESOME!"  — Okay, he’s definitely my kid.  🙂

Actions

Information

20 responses

13 09 2009
selfavowedgeek

That is so cool, T.J. I was going to post a rambling not-review, but you literally hit on some of the main things I would’ve said.

Our kids’ favorite part was the winged beast sequence. And 79 minutes was nearly perfect. Any longer, and the movie would’ve fizzled terribly.

My wife and I discussed how you’ve got the kid appeal yet have plenty of Tin Man metaphor action with the “Over the Rainbow” scene along with the overarching creator-creation metaphors. And the wind blowing out the candle. And those lovely little life renewal motifs with the rain and raindrops. Nice touches, all. Too, it’s nice that most of the plot hinged on the unintended consequences of 9’s own actions and his acceptance of responsibility and subsequent attempt to make things as right as he could, given the circumstances.

Hands down, my favorite bit was 9’s first word: “Friend.”

I could go on.

I’m calling, though, Best Animated Oscar nomination along with a Best Dramatic Long Form Hugo for 9. Just sayin’.

And we’ve got the Dark Crystal. You just reminded me that, holy crap, how have I made it this long without having Time Bandits in the DVD collection? That’s almost sacreligious.

13 09 2009
selfavowedgeek

That is so cool, T.J. I was going to post a rambling not-review, but you literally hit on some of the main things I would’ve said.

Our kids’ favorite part was the winged beast sequence. And 79 minutes was nearly perfect. Any longer, and the movie would’ve fizzled terribly.

My wife and I discussed how you’ve got the kid appeal yet have plenty of Tin Man metaphor action with the “Over the Rainbow” scene along with the overarching creator-creation metaphors. And the wind blowing out the candle. And those lovely little life renewal motifs with the rain and raindrops. Nice touches, all. Too, it’s nice that most of the plot hinged on the unintended consequences of 9’s own actions and his acceptance of responsibility and subsequent attempt to make things as right as he could, given the circumstances.

Hands down, my favorite bit was 9’s first word: “Friend.”

I could go on.

I’m calling, though, Best Animated Oscar nomination along with a Best Dramatic Long Form Hugo for 9. Just sayin’.

And we’ve got the Dark Crystal. You just reminded me that, holy crap, how have I made it this long without having Time Bandits in the DVD collection? That’s almost sacreligious.

13 09 2009
southernweirdo

I liked the use of “Over the Rainbow,” too. It is such a nostalgic song; it worked on a lot of levels. It has always been an emotional gut-punch song in many ways.

I agree, they did right to focus on 9’s own actions. Personal responsibility is a great topic to focus a movie on for kids (for some adults, too, of course). It was interesting that his first word was “Friend.”

I definitely see it, along with Coraline, in the running for this year’s Best Animated Oscar. I still haven’t seen Up, but have only heard good things — it is PIXAR, after all. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Up in the running, too.

Best Dramatic Long Form Hugo? Maybe. A nomination, most likely. I have a feeling that the other 9 movie, District 9, will be more likely to pick that one up, but I dunno. 9 was one of the more original SF/F flicks I’ve seen in a while, so it could lean that way. It definitely derserves kudos when it comes to pure originality.It didn’t look like anything else I’ve ever seen.

13 09 2009
selfavowedgeek

That is so cool, T.J. I was going to post a rambling not-review, but you literally hit on some of the main things I would’ve said.

Our kids’ favorite part was the winged beast sequence. And 79 minutes was nearly perfect. Any longer, and the movie would’ve fizzled terribly.

My wife and I discussed how you’ve got the kid appeal yet have plenty of Tin Man metaphor action with the “Over the Rainbow” scene along with the overarching creator-creation metaphors. And the wind blowing out the candle. And those lovely little life renewal motifs with the rain and raindrops. Nice touches, all. Too, it’s nice that most of the plot hinged on the unintended consequences of 9’s own actions and his acceptance of responsibility and subsequent attempt to make things as right as he could, given the circumstances.

Hands down, my favorite bit was 9’s first word: “Friend.”

I could go on.

I’m calling, though, Best Animated Oscar nomination along with a Best Dramatic Long Form Hugo for 9. Just sayin’.

And we’ve got the Dark Crystal. You just reminded me that, holy crap, how have I made it this long without having Time Bandits in the DVD collection? That’s almost sacreligious.

13 09 2009
southernweirdo

I liked the use of “Over the Rainbow,” too. It is such a nostalgic song; it worked on a lot of levels. It has always been an emotional gut-punch song in many ways.

I agree, they did right to focus on 9’s own actions. Personal responsibility is a great topic to focus a movie on for kids (for some adults, too, of course). It was interesting that his first word was “Friend.”

I definitely see it, along with Coraline, in the running for this year’s Best Animated Oscar. I still haven’t seen Up, but have only heard good things — it is PIXAR, after all. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Up in the running, too.

Best Dramatic Long Form Hugo? Maybe. A nomination, most likely. I have a feeling that the other 9 movie, District 9, will be more likely to pick that one up, but I dunno. 9 was one of the more original SF/F flicks I’ve seen in a while, so it could lean that way. It definitely derserves kudos when it comes to pure originality.It didn’t look like anything else I’ve ever seen.

13 09 2009
selfavowedgeek

That is so cool, T.J. I was going to post a rambling not-review, but you literally hit on some of the main things I would’ve said.
Our kids’ favorite part was the winged beast sequence. And 79 minutes was nearly perfect. Any longer, and the movie would’ve fizzled terribly.
My wife and I discussed how you’ve got the kid appeal yet have plenty of Tin Man metaphor action with the “Over the Rainbow” scene along with the overarching creator-creation metaphors. And the wind blowing out the candle. And those lovely little life renewal motifs with the rain and raindrops. Nice touches, all. Too, it’s nice that most of the plot hinged on the unintended consequences of 9’s own actions and his acceptance of responsibility and subsequent attempt to make things as right as he could, given the circumstances.
Hands down, my favorite bit was 9’s first word: “Friend.”
I could go on.
I’m calling, though, Best Animated Oscar nomination along with a Best Dramatic Long Form Hugo for 9. Just sayin’.
And we’ve got the Dark Crystal. You just reminded me that, holy crap, how have I made it this long without having Time Bandits in the DVD collection? That’s almost sacreligious.

13 09 2009
southernweirdo

I liked the use of “Over the Rainbow,” too. It is such a nostalgic song; it worked on a lot of levels. It has always been an emotional gut-punch song in many ways.
I agree, they did right to focus on 9’s own actions. Personal responsibility is a great topic to focus a movie on for kids (for some adults, too, of course). It was interesting that his first word was “Friend.”
I definitely see it, along with Coraline, in the running for this year’s Best Animated Oscar. I still haven’t seen Up, but have only heard good things — it is PIXAR, after all. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Up in the running, too.
Best Dramatic Long Form Hugo? Maybe. A nomination, most likely. I have a feeling that the other 9 movie, District 9, will be more likely to pick that one up, but I dunno. 9 was one of the more original SF/F flicks I’ve seen in a while, so it could lean that way. It definitely derserves kudos when it comes to pure originality.It didn’t look like anything else I’ve ever seen.

13 09 2009
southernweirdo

I liked the use of “Over the Rainbow,” too. It is such a nostalgic song; it worked on a lot of levels. It has always been an emotional gut-punch song in many ways.
I agree, they did right to focus on 9’s own actions. Personal responsibility is a great topic to focus a movie on for kids (for some adults, too, of course). It was interesting that his first word was “Friend.”
I definitely see it, along with Coraline, in the running for this year’s Best Animated Oscar. I still haven’t seen Up, but have only heard good things — it is PIXAR, after all. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Up in the running, too.
Best Dramatic Long Form Hugo? Maybe. A nomination, most likely. I have a feeling that the other 9 movie, District 9, will be more likely to pick that one up, but I dunno. 9 was one of the more original SF/F flicks I’ve seen in a while, so it could lean that way. It definitely derserves kudos when it comes to pure originality.It didn’t look like anything else I’ve ever seen.

13 09 2009
selfavowedgeek

That is so cool, T.J. I was going to post a rambling not-review, but you literally hit on some of the main things I would’ve said.
Our kids’ favorite part was the winged beast sequence. And 79 minutes was nearly perfect. Any longer, and the movie would’ve fizzled terribly.
My wife and I discussed how you’ve got the kid appeal yet have plenty of Tin Man metaphor action with the “Over the Rainbow” scene along with the overarching creator-creation metaphors. And the wind blowing out the candle. And those lovely little life renewal motifs with the rain and raindrops. Nice touches, all. Too, it’s nice that most of the plot hinged on the unintended consequences of 9’s own actions and his acceptance of responsibility and subsequent attempt to make things as right as he could, given the circumstances.
Hands down, my favorite bit was 9’s first word: “Friend.”
I could go on.
I’m calling, though, Best Animated Oscar nomination along with a Best Dramatic Long Form Hugo for 9. Just sayin’.
And we’ve got the Dark Crystal. You just reminded me that, holy crap, how have I made it this long without having Time Bandits in the DVD collection? That’s almost sacreligious.

13 09 2009
southernweirdo

I liked the use of “Over the Rainbow,” too. It is such a nostalgic song; it worked on a lot of levels. It has always been an emotional gut-punch song in many ways.

I agree, they did right to focus on 9’s own actions. Personal responsibility is a great topic to focus a movie on for kids (for some adults, too, of course). It was interesting that his first word was “Friend.”

I definitely see it, along with Coraline, in the running for this year’s Best Animated Oscar. I still haven’t seen Up, but have only heard good things — it is PIXAR, after all. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Up in the running, too.

Best Dramatic Long Form Hugo? Maybe. A nomination, most likely. I have a feeling that the other 9 movie, District 9, will be more likely to pick that one up, but I dunno. 9 was one of the more original SF/F flicks I’ve seen in a while, so it could lean that way. It definitely derserves kudos when it comes to pure originality.It didn’t look like anything else I’ve ever seen.

14 09 2009
cafenowhere

Yay! I’m so glad you guys enjoyed the movie. I’d been following your decision-making process with sympathy. Kids are hard to figure sometimes and what is okay for one kid now might not be okay for that same kid later, or for other kids at other times.

Tweetie has not seen any advertising for 9, so she’s not been pestering us to see it. I’m relieved.

14 09 2009
cafenowhere

Yay! I’m so glad you guys enjoyed the movie. I’d been following your decision-making process with sympathy. Kids are hard to figure sometimes and what is okay for one kid now might not be okay for that same kid later, or for other kids at other times.

Tweetie has not seen any advertising for 9, so she’s not been pestering us to see it. I’m relieved.

15 09 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

You’re right. It’s hard to tell sometimes with kids. Luckily, this time, it wasn’t too scary.

14 09 2009
cafenowhere

Yay! I’m so glad you guys enjoyed the movie. I’d been following your decision-making process with sympathy. Kids are hard to figure sometimes and what is okay for one kid now might not be okay for that same kid later, or for other kids at other times.

Tweetie has not seen any advertising for 9, so she’s not been pestering us to see it. I’m relieved.

15 09 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

You’re right. It’s hard to tell sometimes with kids. Luckily, this time, it wasn’t too scary.

14 09 2009
cafenowhere

Yay! I’m so glad you guys enjoyed the movie. I’d been following your decision-making process with sympathy. Kids are hard to figure sometimes and what is okay for one kid now might not be okay for that same kid later, or for other kids at other times.
Tweetie has not seen any advertising for 9, so she’s not been pestering us to see it. I’m relieved.

15 09 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!
You’re right. It’s hard to tell sometimes with kids. Luckily, this time, it wasn’t too scary.

15 09 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!
You’re right. It’s hard to tell sometimes with kids. Luckily, this time, it wasn’t too scary.

14 09 2009
cafenowhere

Yay! I’m so glad you guys enjoyed the movie. I’d been following your decision-making process with sympathy. Kids are hard to figure sometimes and what is okay for one kid now might not be okay for that same kid later, or for other kids at other times.
Tweetie has not seen any advertising for 9, so she’s not been pestering us to see it. I’m relieved.

15 09 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

You’re right. It’s hard to tell sometimes with kids. Luckily, this time, it wasn’t too scary.

Leave a Reply

