Wisdom from the Mouths of Babes

30 08 2009

Yesterday, my son made the following announcement:

"Daddy, you know books really aren’t important."

Okay. I was a little shocked by this. This goes against all that we thought we had taught our son here at home and at school. Puzzled, I asked him to elaborate.

"Books aren’t important. What’s really important is the people around you."

You just can’t argue with that. Needless to say, I put my book down and took him out to play.

I’m feeling pretty proud of the little guy. I think all us writers need to hear this from time to time. Sometimes you need to just get your nose out of that book or your manuscript and go out and play (or at least live a little).

Actions

Information

30 responses

30 08 2009
jongibbs

He sounds like a smart young man πŸ™‚

30 08 2009
jongibbs

He sounds like a smart young man πŸ™‚

31 08 2009
southernweirdo

He really is.

30 08 2009
jongibbs

He sounds like a smart young man πŸ™‚

31 08 2009
southernweirdo

He really is.

30 08 2009
jongibbs

He sounds like a smart young man πŸ™‚

31 08 2009
southernweirdo

He really is.

31 08 2009
southernweirdo

He really is.

30 08 2009
jongibbs

He sounds like a smart young man πŸ™‚

30 08 2009
kmarkhoover

wow, this was very moving, thank you for posting

Haha, you do realize he’s going to grow up to be a lot smarter than you? Hey, wait, the same can be said for my kids, too. Huh. πŸ˜›

Lol, but you’re so right. They see things in a more clarified way than we do as adults sometimes. I’ve said it before, we lose a lot when we grow up. But I think this little fellow is going to remember it.

Very moving!

30 08 2009
kmarkhoover

wow, this was very moving, thank you for posting

Haha, you do realize he’s going to grow up to be a lot smarter than you? Hey, wait, the same can be said for my kids, too. Huh. πŸ˜›

Lol, but you’re so right. They see things in a more clarified way than we do as adults sometimes. I’ve said it before, we lose a lot when we grow up. But I think this little fellow is going to remember it.

Very moving!

31 08 2009
southernweirdo

Re: wow, this was very moving, thank you for posting

What do you mean grow up to be smarter than me? He already is! πŸ™‚

I think your right about how kids view the world. We overcomplicate things somehow.

30 08 2009
kmarkhoover

wow, this was very moving, thank you for posting

Haha, you do realize he’s going to grow up to be a lot smarter than you? Hey, wait, the same can be said for my kids, too. Huh. πŸ˜›

Lol, but you’re so right. They see things in a more clarified way than we do as adults sometimes. I’ve said it before, we lose a lot when we grow up. But I think this little fellow is going to remember it.

Very moving!

31 08 2009
southernweirdo

Re: wow, this was very moving, thank you for posting

What do you mean grow up to be smarter than me? He already is! πŸ™‚

I think your right about how kids view the world. We overcomplicate things somehow.

30 08 2009
kmarkhoover

wow, this was very moving, thank you for posting
Haha, you do realize he’s going to grow up to be a lot smarter than you? Hey, wait, the same can be said for my kids, too. Huh. πŸ˜›
Lol, but you’re so right. They see things in a more clarified way than we do as adults sometimes. I’ve said it before, we lose a lot when we grow up. But I think this little fellow is going to remember it.
Very moving!

31 08 2009
southernweirdo

Re: wow, this was very moving, thank you for posting
What do you mean grow up to be smarter than me? He already is! πŸ™‚
I think your right about how kids view the world. We overcomplicate things somehow.

31 08 2009
southernweirdo

Re: wow, this was very moving, thank you for posting
What do you mean grow up to be smarter than me? He already is! πŸ™‚
I think your right about how kids view the world. We overcomplicate things somehow.

30 08 2009
kmarkhoover

wow, this was very moving, thank you for posting
Haha, you do realize he’s going to grow up to be a lot smarter than you? Hey, wait, the same can be said for my kids, too. Huh. πŸ˜›
Lol, but you’re so right. They see things in a more clarified way than we do as adults sometimes. I’ve said it before, we lose a lot when we grow up. But I think this little fellow is going to remember it.
Very moving!

31 08 2009
southernweirdo

He really is.

31 08 2009
southernweirdo

Re: wow, this was very moving, thank you for posting

What do you mean grow up to be smarter than me? He already is! πŸ™‚

I think your right about how kids view the world. We overcomplicate things somehow.

31 08 2009
eneit

just because no one else has said it …

Out of the mouths of babes …

31 08 2009
eneit

just because no one else has said it …

Out of the mouths of babes …

31 08 2009
eneit

just because no one else has said it …

Out of the mouths of babes …

31 08 2009
eneit

just because no one else has said it …
Out of the mouths of babes …

31 08 2009
eneit

just because no one else has said it …
Out of the mouths of babes …

31 08 2009
bearleyport

Hambone

One of the consolations for having a child and not nearly so much time to read. I had to quit watching TV altogether. Maybe it’s a good thing, at least for a would-be realistic fiction writer, to have my head yanked out of the falsehood and thrust naked onto the stage like some reluctant, half-baked ham.

31 08 2009
bearleyport

Hambone

One of the consolations for having a child and not nearly so much time to read. I had to quit watching TV altogether. Maybe it’s a good thing, at least for a would-be realistic fiction writer, to have my head yanked out of the falsehood and thrust naked onto the stage like some reluctant, half-baked ham.

31 08 2009
bearleyport

Hambone

One of the consolations for having a child and not nearly so much time to read. I had to quit watching TV altogether. Maybe it’s a good thing, at least for a would-be realistic fiction writer, to have my head yanked out of the falsehood and thrust naked onto the stage like some reluctant, half-baked ham.

31 08 2009
bearleyport

Hambone
One of the consolations for having a child and not nearly so much time to read. I had to quit watching TV altogether. Maybe it’s a good thing, at least for a would-be realistic fiction writer, to have my head yanked out of the falsehood and thrust naked onto the stage like some reluctant, half-baked ham.

31 08 2009
bearleyport

Hambone
One of the consolations for having a child and not nearly so much time to read. I had to quit watching TV altogether. Maybe it’s a good thing, at least for a would-be realistic fiction writer, to have my head yanked out of the falsehood and thrust naked onto the stage like some reluctant, half-baked ham.

Leave a Reply

