Once again… Phew!

27 06 2009

I’ve been hustling and bustling lately. These are very strange times. Thursday was probably the strangest day for me., and it was not because of the celebrity deaths. There were massive layoffs at the company where I work.

I learned there were security guards and HR personnel taking people outside while the local news vans and police pulled up to make it an even bigger spectacle. I work for one of the largest employers in the area, and there was a 4% reduction in workforce. People, some of them with with 18-20 years in the company, were just let go without warning. It was a very sad day, and I’m still feeling it. There’s a palpable uncertainty and fear everyday we go into work (my manager half-jokingly said we should all put lamb’s blood on our cubicles until the layoffs "Passover," ha!), but I’m thankful I still have my job…for now. Let’s just hope there’s no more "Corporate Restructuring" for a little while. That’s what our corporate spokesperson seemed to indicate in a few interviews I read, that the layoffs were over. I sure hope so.

As sad as the layoffs make me (these were the first layoffs in our company’s long history), I understand them. What other choice is there for an employer when the economy is drying up with the money needed to pay people? Things need to turn around soon. The uncertainty and fear I seem to feel everywhere around here combined with the nearly 10% unemployment rate are making for some tough times.

In happier news, I’ve been staying busy writing and selling short ficton and poetry. My latest novel is progressing nicely, it seems to be writing itself. I’m hoping to push it over the 40,000 words mark today while the baby takes his nap.

Actions

Information

160 responses

27 06 2009
bondo_ba

Fingers crossed for you. Hopefully things will get better everywhere as 2009 progresses.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know things will turn around, my question is how much worse is it going to have to get first before it gets better? I think that’s kind of the question on everyone’s mind these days.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know things will turn around, my question is how much worse is it going to have to get first before it gets better? I think that’s kind of the question on everyone’s mind these days.

27 06 2009
bondo_ba

Fingers crossed for you. Hopefully things will get better everywhere as 2009 progresses.

27 06 2009
bondo_ba

Fingers crossed for you. Hopefully things will get better everywhere as 2009 progresses.

27 06 2009
bondo_ba

Fingers crossed for you. Hopefully things will get better everywhere as 2009 progresses.

27 06 2009
bondo_ba

Fingers crossed for you. Hopefully things will get better everywhere as 2009 progresses.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know things will turn around, my question is how much worse is it going to have to get first before it gets better? I think that’s kind of the question on everyone’s mind these days.

27 06 2009
bondo_ba

Fingers crossed for you. Hopefully things will get better everywhere as 2009 progresses.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know things will turn around, my question is how much worse is it going to have to get first before it gets better? I think that’s kind of the question on everyone’s mind these days.

27 06 2009
bondo_ba

Fingers crossed for you. Hopefully things will get better everywhere as 2009 progresses.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know things will turn around, my question is how much worse is it going to have to get first before it gets better? I think that’s kind of the question on everyone’s mind these days.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know things will turn around, my question is how much worse is it going to have to get first before it gets better? I think that’s kind of the question on everyone’s mind these days.

27 06 2009
bondo_ba

Fingers crossed for you. Hopefully things will get better everywhere as 2009 progresses.

27 06 2009
Anonymous

Once again, I am glad I don’t work for a living. I don’t think I could handle the pressure right now. Good luck with the writing.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

27 06 2009
Anonymous

Once again, I am glad I don’t work for a living. I don’t think I could handle the pressure right now. Good luck with the writing.

27 06 2009
Anonymous

Once again, I am glad I don’t work for a living. I don’t think I could handle the pressure right now. Good luck with the writing.

27 06 2009
Anonymous

Once again, I am glad I don’t work for a living. I don’t think I could handle the pressure right now. Good luck with the writing.

27 06 2009
Anonymous

Once again, I am glad I don’t work for a living. I don’t think I could handle the pressure right now. Good luck with the writing.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

27 06 2009
Anonymous

Once again, I am glad I don’t work for a living. I don’t think I could handle the pressure right now. Good luck with the writing.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

27 06 2009
Anonymous

Once again, I am glad I don’t work for a living. I don’t think I could handle the pressure right now. Good luck with the writing.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

27 06 2009
Anonymous

Once again, I am glad I don’t work for a living. I don’t think I could handle the pressure right now. Good luck with the writing.

27 06 2009
xjenavivex

nice song

I am glad you made it this far. We are a bit scared in my office. It is just so slow. We are tied indirectly to the real estate industry.

Glad to hear the positive news about your writing life.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Times are tight all over. I work in health insurance, and what hit us was “The Ripple Effect.”

We rely mainly on large group plans, when groups (companies) have layoffs it means less customers for us. Our recent, and hopefully temporary, economic downturn and resulting layoffs were a direct result of layoffs from other industries/companies. Combine that with uncertainty in the health industry anyway while the government tries to decide what’s best for all of us, and you’ve got a perfect storm brewing in my industry.

I’m hoping I have a strong enough storm shelter in place.

29 06 2009
xjenavivex

I will keep my fingers crossed for you guys. Trust me when I say I understand that these are tough times all over.

29 06 2009
xjenavivex

I will keep my fingers crossed for you guys. Trust me when I say I understand that these are tough times all over.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Times are tight all over. I work in health insurance, and what hit us was “The Ripple Effect.”

We rely mainly on large group plans, when groups (companies) have layoffs it means less customers for us. Our recent, and hopefully temporary, economic downturn and resulting layoffs were a direct result of layoffs from other industries/companies. Combine that with uncertainty in the health industry anyway while the government tries to decide what’s best for all of us, and you’ve got a perfect storm brewing in my industry.

I’m hoping I have a strong enough storm shelter in place.

27 06 2009
xjenavivex

nice song

I am glad you made it this far. We are a bit scared in my office. It is just so slow. We are tied indirectly to the real estate industry.

Glad to hear the positive news about your writing life.

27 06 2009
xjenavivex

nice song

I am glad you made it this far. We are a bit scared in my office. It is just so slow. We are tied indirectly to the real estate industry.

Glad to hear the positive news about your writing life.

27 06 2009
xjenavivex

nice song

I am glad you made it this far. We are a bit scared in my office. It is just so slow. We are tied indirectly to the real estate industry.

Glad to hear the positive news about your writing life.

27 06 2009
xjenavivex

nice song

I am glad you made it this far. We are a bit scared in my office. It is just so slow. We are tied indirectly to the real estate industry.

Glad to hear the positive news about your writing life.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Times are tight all over. I work in health insurance, and what hit us was “The Ripple Effect.”

We rely mainly on large group plans, when groups (companies) have layoffs it means less customers for us. Our recent, and hopefully temporary, economic downturn and resulting layoffs were a direct result of layoffs from other industries/companies. Combine that with uncertainty in the health industry anyway while the government tries to decide what’s best for all of us, and you’ve got a perfect storm brewing in my industry.

I’m hoping I have a strong enough storm shelter in place.

29 06 2009
xjenavivex

I will keep my fingers crossed for you guys. Trust me when I say I understand that these are tough times all over.

27 06 2009
xjenavivex

nice song

I am glad you made it this far. We are a bit scared in my office. It is just so slow. We are tied indirectly to the real estate industry.

Glad to hear the positive news about your writing life.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Times are tight all over. I work in health insurance, and what hit us was “The Ripple Effect.”

We rely mainly on large group plans, when groups (companies) have layoffs it means less customers for us. Our recent, and hopefully temporary, economic downturn and resulting layoffs were a direct result of layoffs from other industries/companies. Combine that with uncertainty in the health industry anyway while the government tries to decide what’s best for all of us, and you’ve got a perfect storm brewing in my industry.

I’m hoping I have a strong enough storm shelter in place.

29 06 2009
xjenavivex

I will keep my fingers crossed for you guys. Trust me when I say I understand that these are tough times all over.

27 06 2009
xjenavivex

nice song
I am glad you made it this far. We are a bit scared in my office. It is just so slow. We are tied indirectly to the real estate industry.
Glad to hear the positive news about your writing life.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Times are tight all over. I work in health insurance, and what hit us was “The Ripple Effect.”
We rely mainly on large group plans, when groups (companies) have layoffs it means less customers for us. Our recent, and hopefully temporary, economic downturn and resulting layoffs were a direct result of layoffs from other industries/companies. Combine that with uncertainty in the health industry anyway while the government tries to decide what’s best for all of us, and you’ve got a perfect storm brewing in my industry.
I’m hoping I have a strong enough storm shelter in place.

29 06 2009
xjenavivex

I will keep my fingers crossed for you guys. Trust me when I say I understand that these are tough times all over.

29 06 2009
xjenavivex

I will keep my fingers crossed for you guys. Trust me when I say I understand that these are tough times all over.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Times are tight all over. I work in health insurance, and what hit us was “The Ripple Effect.”
We rely mainly on large group plans, when groups (companies) have layoffs it means less customers for us. Our recent, and hopefully temporary, economic downturn and resulting layoffs were a direct result of layoffs from other industries/companies. Combine that with uncertainty in the health industry anyway while the government tries to decide what’s best for all of us, and you’ve got a perfect storm brewing in my industry.
I’m hoping I have a strong enough storm shelter in place.

27 06 2009
xjenavivex

nice song
I am glad you made it this far. We are a bit scared in my office. It is just so slow. We are tied indirectly to the real estate industry.
Glad to hear the positive news about your writing life.

27 06 2009
cafenowhere

“put lamb’s blood on our cubicles until the layoffs “Passover,””

Better yet, do like the fainting goats and just play dead.

Sounds like you’re coping well, keeping a positive attitude. Continued good luck to you and yours.

27 06 2009
bearleyport

Ditto, verso y recto. Soy incommunicado.

Hannibal ad portas.

“Blood in the streets in the town of New Haven…”

27 06 2009
bearleyport

Ditto, verso y recto. Soy incommunicado.

Hannibal ad portas.

“Blood in the streets in the town of New Haven…”

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

I worry if I play oppossum I might just get chucked. Better to stay uber-productive right now. However, if I see someone from HR heading my way, I may just have to try that πŸ™‚

27 06 2009
dr_phil_physics

Make da HR people jest go away — an’ nobody gets hoit.

Well, it’d work in the movies!

Dr. Phil

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

πŸ˜‰

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

πŸ˜‰

27 06 2009
dr_phil_physics

Make da HR people jest go away — an’ nobody gets hoit.

Well, it’d work in the movies!

Dr. Phil

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

I worry if I play oppossum I might just get chucked. Better to stay uber-productive right now. However, if I see someone from HR heading my way, I may just have to try that πŸ™‚

27 06 2009
cafenowhere

“put lamb’s blood on our cubicles until the layoffs “Passover,””

Better yet, do like the fainting goats and just play dead.

Sounds like you’re coping well, keeping a positive attitude. Continued good luck to you and yours.

27 06 2009
cafenowhere

“put lamb’s blood on our cubicles until the layoffs “Passover,””

Better yet, do like the fainting goats and just play dead.

Sounds like you’re coping well, keeping a positive attitude. Continued good luck to you and yours.

27 06 2009
cafenowhere

“put lamb’s blood on our cubicles until the layoffs “Passover,””

Better yet, do like the fainting goats and just play dead.

Sounds like you’re coping well, keeping a positive attitude. Continued good luck to you and yours.

27 06 2009
cafenowhere

“put lamb’s blood on our cubicles until the layoffs “Passover,””

Better yet, do like the fainting goats and just play dead.

Sounds like you’re coping well, keeping a positive attitude. Continued good luck to you and yours.

27 06 2009
bearleyport

Ditto, verso y recto. Soy incommunicado.

Hannibal ad portas.

“Blood in the streets in the town of New Haven…”

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

I worry if I play oppossum I might just get chucked. Better to stay uber-productive right now. However, if I see someone from HR heading my way, I may just have to try that πŸ™‚

27 06 2009
dr_phil_physics

Make da HR people jest go away — an’ nobody gets hoit.

Well, it’d work in the movies!

Dr. Phil

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

πŸ˜‰

27 06 2009
cafenowhere

“put lamb’s blood on our cubicles until the layoffs “Passover,””

Better yet, do like the fainting goats and just play dead.

Sounds like you’re coping well, keeping a positive attitude. Continued good luck to you and yours.

27 06 2009
bearleyport

Ditto, verso y recto. Soy incommunicado.

Hannibal ad portas.

“Blood in the streets in the town of New Haven…”

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

I worry if I play oppossum I might just get chucked. Better to stay uber-productive right now. However, if I see someone from HR heading my way, I may just have to try that πŸ™‚

27 06 2009
dr_phil_physics

Make da HR people jest go away — an’ nobody gets hoit.

Well, it’d work in the movies!

Dr. Phil

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

πŸ˜‰

27 06 2009
cafenowhere

“put lamb’s blood on our cubicles until the layoffs “Passover,””
Better yet, do like the fainting goats and just play dead.
Sounds like you’re coping well, keeping a positive attitude. Continued good luck to you and yours.

27 06 2009
bearleyport

Ditto, verso y recto. Soy incommunicado.
Hannibal ad portas.
“Blood in the streets in the town of New Haven…”

27 06 2009
bearleyport

Ditto, verso y recto. Soy incommunicado.
Hannibal ad portas.
“Blood in the streets in the town of New Haven…”

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

I worry if I play oppossum I might just get chucked. Better to stay uber-productive right now. However, if I see someone from HR heading my way, I may just have to try that πŸ™‚

27 06 2009
dr_phil_physics

Make da HR people jest go away — an’ nobody gets hoit.
Well, it’d work in the movies!
Dr. Phil

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

πŸ˜‰

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

πŸ˜‰

27 06 2009
dr_phil_physics

Make da HR people jest go away — an’ nobody gets hoit.
Well, it’d work in the movies!
Dr. Phil

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

I worry if I play oppossum I might just get chucked. Better to stay uber-productive right now. However, if I see someone from HR heading my way, I may just have to try that πŸ™‚

27 06 2009
cafenowhere

“put lamb’s blood on our cubicles until the layoffs “Passover,””
Better yet, do like the fainting goats and just play dead.
Sounds like you’re coping well, keeping a positive attitude. Continued good luck to you and yours.

27 06 2009
bearleyport

Ditto, verso y recto. Soy incommunicado.

Hannibal ad portas.

“Blood in the streets in the town of New Haven…”

27 06 2009
bearleyport

Ditto, verso y recto. Soy incommunicado.

Hannibal ad portas.

“Blood in the streets in the town of New Haven…”

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know things will turn around, my question is how much worse is it going to have to get first before it gets better? I think that’s kind of the question on everyone’s mind these days.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know things will turn around, my question is how much worse is it going to have to get first before it gets better? I think that’s kind of the question on everyone’s mind these days.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

I worry if I play oppossum I might just get chucked. Better to stay uber-productive right now. However, if I see someone from HR heading my way, I may just have to try that πŸ™‚

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

I worry if I play oppossum I might just get chucked. Better to stay uber-productive right now. However, if I see someone from HR heading my way, I may just have to try that πŸ™‚

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Times are tight all over. I work in health insurance, and what hit us was “The Ripple Effect.”

We rely mainly on large group plans, when groups (companies) have layoffs it means less customers for us. Our recent, and hopefully temporary, economic downturn and resulting layoffs were a direct result of layoffs from other industries/companies. Combine that with uncertainty in the health industry anyway while the government tries to decide what’s best for all of us, and you’ve got a perfect storm brewing in my industry.

I’m hoping I have a strong enough storm shelter in place.

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

Times are tight all over. I work in health insurance, and what hit us was “The Ripple Effect.”

We rely mainly on large group plans, when groups (companies) have layoffs it means less customers for us. Our recent, and hopefully temporary, economic downturn and resulting layoffs were a direct result of layoffs from other industries/companies. Combine that with uncertainty in the health industry anyway while the government tries to decide what’s best for all of us, and you’ve got a perfect storm brewing in my industry.

I’m hoping I have a strong enough storm shelter in place.

27 06 2009
dr_phil_physics

Make da HR people jest go away — an’ nobody gets hoit.

Well, it’d work in the movies!

Dr. Phil

27 06 2009
dr_phil_physics

Make da HR people jest go away — an’ nobody gets hoit.

Well, it’d work in the movies!

Dr. Phil

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

πŸ˜‰

27 06 2009
southernweirdo

πŸ˜‰

27 06 2009
ckastens

We had to let around 40% of our workforce go once. The company was already running a debt. It was one of the saddest days of my life.
Hope your job comes around as well as your recent writing success!

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

Something similar happened with my last employer. Over half my department was let go a week before Christmas. Heartbreaking.

28 06 2009
ckastens

That “week before Christmas” part is a real stinker.

28 06 2009
ckastens

That “week before Christmas” part is a real stinker.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

Something similar happened with my last employer. Over half my department was let go a week before Christmas. Heartbreaking.

27 06 2009
ckastens

We had to let around 40% of our workforce go once. The company was already running a debt. It was one of the saddest days of my life.
Hope your job comes around as well as your recent writing success!

27 06 2009
ckastens

We had to let around 40% of our workforce go once. The company was already running a debt. It was one of the saddest days of my life.
Hope your job comes around as well as your recent writing success!

27 06 2009
ckastens

We had to let around 40% of our workforce go once. The company was already running a debt. It was one of the saddest days of my life.
Hope your job comes around as well as your recent writing success!

27 06 2009
ckastens

We had to let around 40% of our workforce go once. The company was already running a debt. It was one of the saddest days of my life.
Hope your job comes around as well as your recent writing success!

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

Something similar happened with my last employer. Over half my department was let go a week before Christmas. Heartbreaking.

28 06 2009
ckastens

That “week before Christmas” part is a real stinker.

27 06 2009
ckastens

We had to let around 40% of our workforce go once. The company was already running a debt. It was one of the saddest days of my life.
Hope your job comes around as well as your recent writing success!

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

Something similar happened with my last employer. Over half my department was let go a week before Christmas. Heartbreaking.

28 06 2009
ckastens

That “week before Christmas” part is a real stinker.

27 06 2009
ckastens

We had to let around 40% of our workforce go once. The company was already running a debt. It was one of the saddest days of my life.
Hope your job comes around as well as your recent writing success!

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!
Something similar happened with my last employer. Over half my department was let go a week before Christmas. Heartbreaking.

28 06 2009
ckastens

That “week before Christmas” part is a real stinker.

28 06 2009
ckastens

That “week before Christmas” part is a real stinker.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!
Something similar happened with my last employer. Over half my department was let go a week before Christmas. Heartbreaking.

27 06 2009
ckastens

We had to let around 40% of our workforce go once. The company was already running a debt. It was one of the saddest days of my life.
Hope your job comes around as well as your recent writing success!

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

Despite the depredations of the financial sector, the most fundamental reason for the economic collapse is that too many people are unable to get a job that actually pays enough to live on. Wages have stagnated or dropped, companies use part-time workers who earn few or no benefits, and meanwhile crucial expenses such as housing, health care, and food have skyrocketed. Consequently the economy is not likely to rebound much until we see a return of genuinely good jobs.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

Sad but true. I think you’re onto something. However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.

It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. When skateboarders and reality show stars have dozens of fancy cars that sit around rusting in garages and there are movie stars who have houses large enough to house the entire homeless population of downtown Birmingham.

I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. And I’m just as guilty of this as anyone, but events like this wake you up to that reality a little bit.

I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Re: Thoughts

>>However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.< <

Some jobs remain and are simply underpaid, but many jobs have been closed or shipped overseas. That job drainage is as much a problem as the underpayment.

>>It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. < <

I agree. I also think it’s unsustainable for an hour or two of health care to cost as much as an ordinary person makes in a week, or a
month, or even a year for some of it.

>>I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. < <

Yes, that’s exactly the problem.

>>I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.< <

Two to five incomes, really, because so many people are trapped in part-time work. Americans work longer hours but get compensated less, with far fewer benefits, than do workers in civilized nations. That’s burning out the populace, making them more susceptible to disease and unrest.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Re: Thoughts

>>However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.< <

Some jobs remain and are simply underpaid, but many jobs have been closed or shipped overseas. That job drainage is as much a problem as the underpayment.

>>It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. < <

I agree. I also think it’s unsustainable for an hour or two of health care to cost as much as an ordinary person makes in a week, or a
month, or even a year for some of it.

>>I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. < <

Yes, that’s exactly the problem.

>>I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.< <

Two to five incomes, really, because so many people are trapped in part-time work. Americans work longer hours but get compensated less, with far fewer benefits, than do workers in civilized nations. That’s burning out the populace, making them more susceptible to disease and unrest.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

Sad but true. I think you’re onto something. However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.

It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. When skateboarders and reality show stars have dozens of fancy cars that sit around rusting in garages and there are movie stars who have houses large enough to house the entire homeless population of downtown Birmingham.

I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. And I’m just as guilty of this as anyone, but events like this wake you up to that reality a little bit.

I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

Despite the depredations of the financial sector, the most fundamental reason for the economic collapse is that too many people are unable to get a job that actually pays enough to live on. Wages have stagnated or dropped, companies use part-time workers who earn few or no benefits, and meanwhile crucial expenses such as housing, health care, and food have skyrocketed. Consequently the economy is not likely to rebound much until we see a return of genuinely good jobs.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

Despite the depredations of the financial sector, the most fundamental reason for the economic collapse is that too many people are unable to get a job that actually pays enough to live on. Wages have stagnated or dropped, companies use part-time workers who earn few or no benefits, and meanwhile crucial expenses such as housing, health care, and food have skyrocketed. Consequently the economy is not likely to rebound much until we see a return of genuinely good jobs.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

Despite the depredations of the financial sector, the most fundamental reason for the economic collapse is that too many people are unable to get a job that actually pays enough to live on. Wages have stagnated or dropped, companies use part-time workers who earn few or no benefits, and meanwhile crucial expenses such as housing, health care, and food have skyrocketed. Consequently the economy is not likely to rebound much until we see a return of genuinely good jobs.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

Despite the depredations of the financial sector, the most fundamental reason for the economic collapse is that too many people are unable to get a job that actually pays enough to live on. Wages have stagnated or dropped, companies use part-time workers who earn few or no benefits, and meanwhile crucial expenses such as housing, health care, and food have skyrocketed. Consequently the economy is not likely to rebound much until we see a return of genuinely good jobs.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

Sad but true. I think you’re onto something. However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.

It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. When skateboarders and reality show stars have dozens of fancy cars that sit around rusting in garages and there are movie stars who have houses large enough to house the entire homeless population of downtown Birmingham.

I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. And I’m just as guilty of this as anyone, but events like this wake you up to that reality a little bit.

I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Re: Thoughts

>>However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.< <

Some jobs remain and are simply underpaid, but many jobs have been closed or shipped overseas. That job drainage is as much a problem as the underpayment.

>>It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. < <

I agree. I also think it’s unsustainable for an hour or two of health care to cost as much as an ordinary person makes in a week, or a
month, or even a year for some of it.

>>I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. < <

Yes, that’s exactly the problem.

>>I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.< <

Two to five incomes, really, because so many people are trapped in part-time work. Americans work longer hours but get compensated less, with far fewer benefits, than do workers in civilized nations. That’s burning out the populace, making them more susceptible to disease and unrest.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

Despite the depredations of the financial sector, the most fundamental reason for the economic collapse is that too many people are unable to get a job that actually pays enough to live on. Wages have stagnated or dropped, companies use part-time workers who earn few or no benefits, and meanwhile crucial expenses such as housing, health care, and food have skyrocketed. Consequently the economy is not likely to rebound much until we see a return of genuinely good jobs.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

Sad but true. I think you’re onto something. However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.

It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. When skateboarders and reality show stars have dozens of fancy cars that sit around rusting in garages and there are movie stars who have houses large enough to house the entire homeless population of downtown Birmingham.

I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. And I’m just as guilty of this as anyone, but events like this wake you up to that reality a little bit.

I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Re: Thoughts

>>However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.< <

Some jobs remain and are simply underpaid, but many jobs have been closed or shipped overseas. That job drainage is as much a problem as the underpayment.

>>It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. < <

I agree. I also think it’s unsustainable for an hour or two of health care to cost as much as an ordinary person makes in a week, or a
month, or even a year for some of it.

>>I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. < <

Yes, that’s exactly the problem.

>>I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.< <

Two to five incomes, really, because so many people are trapped in part-time work. Americans work longer hours but get compensated less, with far fewer benefits, than do workers in civilized nations. That’s burning out the populace, making them more susceptible to disease and unrest.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts
Despite the depredations of the financial sector, the most fundamental reason for the economic collapse is that too many people are unable to get a job that actually pays enough to live on. Wages have stagnated or dropped, companies use part-time workers who earn few or no benefits, and meanwhile crucial expenses such as housing, health care, and food have skyrocketed. Consequently the economy is not likely to rebound much until we see a return of genuinely good jobs.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts
Sad but true. I think you’re onto something. However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.
It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. When skateboarders and reality show stars have dozens of fancy cars that sit around rusting in garages and there are movie stars who have houses large enough to house the entire homeless population of downtown Birmingham.
I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. And I’m just as guilty of this as anyone, but events like this wake you up to that reality a little bit.
I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Re: Thoughts
>>However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.<<
Some jobs remain and are simply underpaid, but many jobs have been closed or shipped overseas. That job drainage is as much a problem as the underpayment.
>>It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. <<
I agree. I also think it’s unsustainable for an hour or two of health care to cost as much as an ordinary person makes in a week, or a
month, or even a year for some of it.
>>I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. <<
Yes, that’s exactly the problem.
>>I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.<<
Two to five incomes, really, because so many people are trapped in part-time work. Americans work longer hours but get compensated less, with far fewer benefits, than do workers in civilized nations. That’s burning out the populace, making them more susceptible to disease and unrest.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Re: Thoughts
>>However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.<<
Some jobs remain and are simply underpaid, but many jobs have been closed or shipped overseas. That job drainage is as much a problem as the underpayment.
>>It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. <<
I agree. I also think it’s unsustainable for an hour or two of health care to cost as much as an ordinary person makes in a week, or a
month, or even a year for some of it.
>>I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. <<
Yes, that’s exactly the problem.
>>I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.<<
Two to five incomes, really, because so many people are trapped in part-time work. Americans work longer hours but get compensated less, with far fewer benefits, than do workers in civilized nations. That’s burning out the populace, making them more susceptible to disease and unrest.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts
Sad but true. I think you’re onto something. However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.
It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. When skateboarders and reality show stars have dozens of fancy cars that sit around rusting in garages and there are movie stars who have houses large enough to house the entire homeless population of downtown Birmingham.
I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. And I’m just as guilty of this as anyone, but events like this wake you up to that reality a little bit.
I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts
Despite the depredations of the financial sector, the most fundamental reason for the economic collapse is that too many people are unable to get a job that actually pays enough to live on. Wages have stagnated or dropped, companies use part-time workers who earn few or no benefits, and meanwhile crucial expenses such as housing, health care, and food have skyrocketed. Consequently the economy is not likely to rebound much until we see a return of genuinely good jobs.

28 06 2009
jongibbs

Glad to hear you weren’t one of those ‘restructured’. I hope you’re right about there not being any more πŸ™‚

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

” I hope you’re right about there not being any more”

– You and me both, brother.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

” I hope you’re right about there not being any more”

– You and me both, brother.

28 06 2009
jongibbs

Glad to hear you weren’t one of those ‘restructured’. I hope you’re right about there not being any more πŸ™‚

28 06 2009
jongibbs

Glad to hear you weren’t one of those ‘restructured’. I hope you’re right about there not being any more πŸ™‚

28 06 2009
jongibbs

Glad to hear you weren’t one of those ‘restructured’. I hope you’re right about there not being any more πŸ™‚

28 06 2009
jongibbs

Glad to hear you weren’t one of those ‘restructured’. I hope you’re right about there not being any more πŸ™‚

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

” I hope you’re right about there not being any more”

– You and me both, brother.

28 06 2009
jongibbs

Glad to hear you weren’t one of those ‘restructured’. I hope you’re right about there not being any more πŸ™‚

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

” I hope you’re right about there not being any more”

– You and me both, brother.

28 06 2009
jongibbs

Glad to hear you weren’t one of those ‘restructured’. I hope you’re right about there not being any more πŸ™‚

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

” I hope you’re right about there not being any more”
– You and me both, brother.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

” I hope you’re right about there not being any more”
– You and me both, brother.

28 06 2009
jongibbs

Glad to hear you weren’t one of those ‘restructured’. I hope you’re right about there not being any more πŸ™‚

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

Something similar happened with my last employer. Over half my department was let go a week before Christmas. Heartbreaking.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

Something similar happened with my last employer. Over half my department was let go a week before Christmas. Heartbreaking.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

Sad but true. I think you’re onto something. However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.

It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. When skateboarders and reality show stars have dozens of fancy cars that sit around rusting in garages and there are movie stars who have houses large enough to house the entire homeless population of downtown Birmingham.

I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. And I’m just as guilty of this as anyone, but events like this wake you up to that reality a little bit.

I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

Sad but true. I think you’re onto something. However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.

It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. When skateboarders and reality show stars have dozens of fancy cars that sit around rusting in garages and there are movie stars who have houses large enough to house the entire homeless population of downtown Birmingham.

I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. And I’m just as guilty of this as anyone, but events like this wake you up to that reality a little bit.

I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

” I hope you’re right about there not being any more”

– You and me both, brother.

28 06 2009
southernweirdo

” I hope you’re right about there not being any more”

– You and me both, brother.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Re: Thoughts

>>However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.< <

Some jobs remain and are simply underpaid, but many jobs have been closed or shipped overseas. That job drainage is as much a problem as the underpayment.

>>It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. < <

I agree. I also think it’s unsustainable for an hour or two of health care to cost as much as an ordinary person makes in a week, or a
month, or even a year for some of it.

>>I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. < <

Yes, that’s exactly the problem.

>>I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.< <

Two to five incomes, really, because so many people are trapped in part-time work. Americans work longer hours but get compensated less, with far fewer benefits, than do workers in civilized nations. That’s burning out the populace, making them more susceptible to disease and unrest.

28 06 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Re: Thoughts

>>However, I think the jobs are out there — we just don’t pay enough for the labor. Our values are a little messed up.< <

Some jobs remain and are simply underpaid, but many jobs have been closed or shipped overseas. That job drainage is as much a problem as the underpayment.

>>It’s screwed up when a celebrity can act in a few episodes of a sitcom and bring in more income in a few months than some of us working people earn in our entire lifetimes. < <

I agree. I also think it’s unsustainable for an hour or two of health care to cost as much as an ordinary person makes in a week, or a
month, or even a year for some of it.

>>I think it shows what we as a culture value — We value beauty over substance, and leisure over industry. < <

Yes, that’s exactly the problem.

>>I remember growing up and it was common to see one spouse in a family working and that was enough for a family to get by. Those days are long gone. It takes an income of two just to live and live comfortably it seems.< <

Two to five incomes, really, because so many people are trapped in part-time work. Americans work longer hours but get compensated less, with far fewer benefits, than do workers in civilized nations. That’s burning out the populace, making them more susceptible to disease and unrest.

28 06 2009
ckastens

That “week before Christmas” part is a real stinker.

28 06 2009
ckastens

That “week before Christmas” part is a real stinker.

29 06 2009
xjenavivex

I will keep my fingers crossed for you guys. Trust me when I say I understand that these are tough times all over.

29 06 2009
xjenavivex

I will keep my fingers crossed for you guys. Trust me when I say I understand that these are tough times all over.

Leave a Reply

