The Long Crazy Days of Summer

22 06 2009

Phew!

That’s really sums it all up. Let me say it again:

Phew!

************************
These days are stretching along into a blur of events and everyday madness. The kids are out of school (and wild). The grass and weeds are growing out of control, and I’m not a huge fan of yardwork, so this is always a pain in my keister. The heat index has been over 100 degrees F for just about a week straight, and I’m ready for autumn to roll back around already. I may be a born Southerner, but my internal thermostat doesn’t much care for this kind of heat unless I’m relaxing on a float on the lake with a cold beer in one hand and a fishing pole in the other (yeah, I’m classy like that).

The day job has been fairly busy — no surprise there, and I’m really glad (job security is always a good thing, especially in today’s economy). But even with how busy I’ve been, I’ve been hearing horror tales of "corporate restructuring" from all over the place, and those words seem to be kind of becoming a catchphrase no matter what industry you work in this year. I am hoping things will turn around soon for all of our sakes, but hey, it’s just money. As long as the economy is our main problem, we really don’t have much to complain about in the larger scheme of things, I guess.

Not like other parts of the world.

Our little problems are nothing like what’s going on in Iran, and my beat-up Auburn hat is off to those people over there fighting for freedom, a gift that we who have it seem to take for granted all too often. It is amazing how Facebook and You Tube and Twitter are actually starting to change the world. We live in truly wild and historic times, whether we realize it at this point or not. "The Times They Are A Changing" as I guess they always have, and they always will.  

In the meantime, I’m staying in the air-conditioning and out of the heat as much as possible while watching the world change on television, between stories about John and Kate Plus 8, and thinking about the many ways our world can be so connected and disconnected at the same time.

We’re living in a strange new world, and it is getting stranger all the time.

Cheers folks!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

