Updates

12 05 2009

Writing:

I have a few sales to announce! (And they don’t involve me in a pair of short-shorts on the side of the road either!)

The poems “(add density)” and “Dry Lips and Memories” were accepted by Illumen for the Spring 2010 issue. This is a great publication specializing in speculative poetry which always displays a lot of talent, and I am really honored to be included in a future issue.

I also sold “Five O’Clock Shadow,” an oddly sentimental short story about what might happen if The Bearded Lady and The Strong Man married and joined civilization to Ruthless Peoples Magazine. I’m particularly excited about this story finding a good home. I am really proud of this one and loved writing the character of The Bearded Lady. This story saw several revisions before finding acceptance, and I look forward to having it finally see the light of day.

I also started writing a new novel that I am about 7500 words into at the moment. I’m really happy with how it is progressing.I think the concept is original, and decided to go with a diary format for this one which seems to be giving the actual story-telling and world-building an ultra tight focus.

Questions for the LJ Hive Mind:

1) I plan on editing/revising my Fountain series into a cohesive whole sometime over the next couple of months, but at around 45,000 words, I fear it will be a tough sell. I’m thinking since it’s just a little longer than a novella, I may try to sell it to a small press. Any suggestions?

2) I’ve been considering joining a writing organization or two. I was invited a while back to join the Southern Horror Writer’s Association, and have been thinking about joining the SFPA. I would appreciate feedback about the value of joining these kinds of organizations from those of you who might have experience with them.

Personal:

Very, very busy.

The day job has been in high gear this week. I spent this afternoon mowing the lawn after work, and spent yesterday and all last weekend preparing for our oldest’s sixth-year birthday party. Photos of the party are here: www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2008857&id=1474253460&l=646846d418.

Actions

Information

264 responses

13 05 2009
bondo_ba

First off, congrats on the sales. That Ruthless People story sounds like a really good one!

45 K is novella length, a tough sell, as you say. If you can get it to 40K, you might want to try Alembical. Other places that might work include Lilley Press, Sam’s dot. Duotrope might give other suggestions.

Good luck!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
bondo_ba

First off, congrats on the sales. That Ruthless People story sounds like a really good one!

45 K is novella length, a tough sell, as you say. If you can get it to 40K, you might want to try Alembical. Other places that might work include Lilley Press, Sam’s dot. Duotrope might give other suggestions.

Good luck!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
bondo_ba

First off, congrats on the sales. That Ruthless People story sounds like a really good one!

45 K is novella length, a tough sell, as you say. If you can get it to 40K, you might want to try Alembical. Other places that might work include Lilley Press, Sam’s dot. Duotrope might give other suggestions.

Good luck!

13 05 2009
bondo_ba

First off, congrats on the sales. That Ruthless People story sounds like a really good one!

45 K is novella length, a tough sell, as you say. If you can get it to 40K, you might want to try Alembical. Other places that might work include Lilley Press, Sam’s dot. Duotrope might give other suggestions.

Good luck!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
bondo_ba

First off, congrats on the sales. That Ruthless People story sounds like a really good one!

45 K is novella length, a tough sell, as you say. If you can get it to 40K, you might want to try Alembical. Other places that might work include Lilley Press, Sam’s dot. Duotrope might give other suggestions.

Good luck!

13 05 2009
bondo_ba

First off, congrats on the sales. That Ruthless People story sounds like a really good one!

45 K is novella length, a tough sell, as you say. If you can get it to 40K, you might want to try Alembical. Other places that might work include Lilley Press, Sam’s dot. Duotrope might give other suggestions.

Good luck!

13 05 2009
bondo_ba

First off, congrats on the sales. That Ruthless People story sounds like a really good one!

45 K is novella length, a tough sell, as you say. If you can get it to 40K, you might want to try Alembical. Other places that might work include Lilley Press, Sam’s dot. Duotrope might give other suggestions.

Good luck!

13 05 2009
bondo_ba

First off, congrats on the sales. That Ruthless People story sounds like a really good one!

45 K is novella length, a tough sell, as you say. If you can get it to 40K, you might want to try Alembical. Other places that might work include Lilley Press, Sam’s dot. Duotrope might give other suggestions.

Good luck!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
bondo_ba

First off, congrats on the sales. That Ruthless People story sounds like a really good one!

45 K is novella length, a tough sell, as you say. If you can get it to 40K, you might want to try Alembical. Other places that might work include Lilley Press, Sam’s dot. Duotrope might give other suggestions.

Good luck!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
bondo_ba

First off, congrats on the sales. That Ruthless People story sounds like a really good one!
45 K is novella length, a tough sell, as you say. If you can get it to 40K, you might want to try Alembical. Other places that might work include Lilley Press, Sam’s dot. Duotrope might give other suggestions.
Good luck!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
bondo_ba

First off, congrats on the sales. That Ruthless People story sounds like a really good one!
45 K is novella length, a tough sell, as you say. If you can get it to 40K, you might want to try Alembical. Other places that might work include Lilley Press, Sam’s dot. Duotrope might give other suggestions.
Good luck!

13 05 2009
selfavowedgeek

T.J., you are the man on those sales.

And by man, I mean manly man for not trying out those workin’ dude’s shorts. *snicker*

Hmmmmmm. Don’t have any advice on the 45k, at least not for the moment.

The other re: organizations? Go for it. I’ve been tossing around joining SFPA, too.

And busy is as busy does here lately, huh? We graduated another crop of seniors in a week and a half!!! I’ve been up to my ears in essays and final projects.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

At least summer’s just around the corner. Do you have big plans?

13 05 2009
selfavowedgeek

T.J., you are the man on those sales.

And by man, I mean manly man for not trying out those workin’ dude’s shorts. *snicker*

Hmmmmmm. Don’t have any advice on the 45k, at least not for the moment.

The other re: organizations? Go for it. I’ve been tossing around joining SFPA, too.

And busy is as busy does here lately, huh? We graduated another crop of seniors in a week and a half!!! I’ve been up to my ears in essays and final projects.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

At least summer’s just around the corner. Do you have big plans?

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

At least summer’s just around the corner. Do you have big plans?

13 05 2009
selfavowedgeek

T.J., you are the man on those sales.

And by man, I mean manly man for not trying out those workin’ dude’s shorts. *snicker*

Hmmmmmm. Don’t have any advice on the 45k, at least not for the moment.

The other re: organizations? Go for it. I’ve been tossing around joining SFPA, too.

And busy is as busy does here lately, huh? We graduated another crop of seniors in a week and a half!!! I’ve been up to my ears in essays and final projects.

13 05 2009
selfavowedgeek

T.J., you are the man on those sales.

And by man, I mean manly man for not trying out those workin’ dude’s shorts. *snicker*

Hmmmmmm. Don’t have any advice on the 45k, at least not for the moment.

The other re: organizations? Go for it. I’ve been tossing around joining SFPA, too.

And busy is as busy does here lately, huh? We graduated another crop of seniors in a week and a half!!! I’ve been up to my ears in essays and final projects.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

At least summer’s just around the corner. Do you have big plans?

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

At least summer’s just around the corner. Do you have big plans?

13 05 2009
selfavowedgeek

T.J., you are the man on those sales.

And by man, I mean manly man for not trying out those workin’ dude’s shorts. *snicker*

Hmmmmmm. Don’t have any advice on the 45k, at least not for the moment.

The other re: organizations? Go for it. I’ve been tossing around joining SFPA, too.

And busy is as busy does here lately, huh? We graduated another crop of seniors in a week and a half!!! I’ve been up to my ears in essays and final projects.

13 05 2009
selfavowedgeek

T.J., you are the man on those sales.

And by man, I mean manly man for not trying out those workin’ dude’s shorts. *snicker*

Hmmmmmm. Don’t have any advice on the 45k, at least not for the moment.

The other re: organizations? Go for it. I’ve been tossing around joining SFPA, too.

And busy is as busy does here lately, huh? We graduated another crop of seniors in a week and a half!!! I’ve been up to my ears in essays and final projects.

13 05 2009
selfavowedgeek

T.J., you are the man on those sales.

And by man, I mean manly man for not trying out those workin’ dude’s shorts. *snicker*

Hmmmmmm. Don’t have any advice on the 45k, at least not for the moment.

The other re: organizations? Go for it. I’ve been tossing around joining SFPA, too.

And busy is as busy does here lately, huh? We graduated another crop of seniors in a week and a half!!! I’ve been up to my ears in essays and final projects.

13 05 2009
selfavowedgeek

T.J., you are the man on those sales.

And by man, I mean manly man for not trying out those workin’ dude’s shorts. *snicker*

Hmmmmmm. Don’t have any advice on the 45k, at least not for the moment.

The other re: organizations? Go for it. I’ve been tossing around joining SFPA, too.

And busy is as busy does here lately, huh? We graduated another crop of seniors in a week and a half!!! I’ve been up to my ears in essays and final projects.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

At least summer’s just around the corner. Do you have big plans?

13 05 2009
selfavowedgeek

T.J., you are the man on those sales.

And by man, I mean manly man for not trying out those workin’ dude’s shorts. *snicker*

Hmmmmmm. Don’t have any advice on the 45k, at least not for the moment.

The other re: organizations? Go for it. I’ve been tossing around joining SFPA, too.

And busy is as busy does here lately, huh? We graduated another crop of seniors in a week and a half!!! I’ve been up to my ears in essays and final projects.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

At least summer’s just around the corner. Do you have big plans?

13 05 2009
selfavowedgeek

T.J., you are the man on those sales.
And by man, I mean manly man for not trying out those workin’ dude’s shorts. *snicker*
Hmmmmmm. Don’t have any advice on the 45k, at least not for the moment.
The other re: organizations? Go for it. I’ve been tossing around joining SFPA, too.
And busy is as busy does here lately, huh? We graduated another crop of seniors in a week and a half!!! I’ve been up to my ears in essays and final projects.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!
At least summer’s just around the corner. Do you have big plans?

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!
At least summer’s just around the corner. Do you have big plans?

13 05 2009
selfavowedgeek

T.J., you are the man on those sales.
And by man, I mean manly man for not trying out those workin’ dude’s shorts. *snicker*
Hmmmmmm. Don’t have any advice on the 45k, at least not for the moment.
The other re: organizations? Go for it. I’ve been tossing around joining SFPA, too.
And busy is as busy does here lately, huh? We graduated another crop of seniors in a week and a half!!! I’ve been up to my ears in essays and final projects.

13 05 2009
marshall_payne

Congrats on the sales!

I don’t really have any advice except could you make it a novel of at least 80k. I don’t even write novelettes because they’re hard to sell. A long story for me is 4 or 5k.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I fear I would have to pack it full of too much filler to reach 80k. I feel it’s is pretty tight as it is, but we’ll see once I start the second draft.

13 05 2009
marshall_payne

Congrats on the sales!

I don’t really have any advice except could you make it a novel of at least 80k. I don’t even write novelettes because they’re hard to sell. A long story for me is 4 or 5k.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I fear I would have to pack it full of too much filler to reach 80k. I feel it’s is pretty tight as it is, but we’ll see once I start the second draft.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I fear I would have to pack it full of too much filler to reach 80k. I feel it’s is pretty tight as it is, but we’ll see once I start the second draft.

13 05 2009
marshall_payne

Congrats on the sales!

I don’t really have any advice except could you make it a novel of at least 80k. I don’t even write novelettes because they’re hard to sell. A long story for me is 4 or 5k.

13 05 2009
marshall_payne

Congrats on the sales!

I don’t really have any advice except could you make it a novel of at least 80k. I don’t even write novelettes because they’re hard to sell. A long story for me is 4 or 5k.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I fear I would have to pack it full of too much filler to reach 80k. I feel it’s is pretty tight as it is, but we’ll see once I start the second draft.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I fear I would have to pack it full of too much filler to reach 80k. I feel it’s is pretty tight as it is, but we’ll see once I start the second draft.

13 05 2009
marshall_payne

Congrats on the sales!

I don’t really have any advice except could you make it a novel of at least 80k. I don’t even write novelettes because they’re hard to sell. A long story for me is 4 or 5k.

13 05 2009
marshall_payne

Congrats on the sales!

I don’t really have any advice except could you make it a novel of at least 80k. I don’t even write novelettes because they’re hard to sell. A long story for me is 4 or 5k.

13 05 2009
marshall_payne

Congrats on the sales!

I don’t really have any advice except could you make it a novel of at least 80k. I don’t even write novelettes because they’re hard to sell. A long story for me is 4 or 5k.

13 05 2009
marshall_payne

Congrats on the sales!

I don’t really have any advice except could you make it a novel of at least 80k. I don’t even write novelettes because they’re hard to sell. A long story for me is 4 or 5k.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I fear I would have to pack it full of too much filler to reach 80k. I feel it’s is pretty tight as it is, but we’ll see once I start the second draft.

13 05 2009
marshall_payne

Congrats on the sales!

I don’t really have any advice except could you make it a novel of at least 80k. I don’t even write novelettes because they’re hard to sell. A long story for me is 4 or 5k.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I fear I would have to pack it full of too much filler to reach 80k. I feel it’s is pretty tight as it is, but we’ll see once I start the second draft.

13 05 2009
marshall_payne

Congrats on the sales!
I don’t really have any advice except could you make it a novel of at least 80k. I don’t even write novelettes because they’re hard to sell. A long story for me is 4 or 5k.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I fear I would have to pack it full of too much filler to reach 80k. I feel it’s is pretty tight as it is, but we’ll see once I start the second draft.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I fear I would have to pack it full of too much filler to reach 80k. I feel it’s is pretty tight as it is, but we’ll see once I start the second draft.

13 05 2009
marshall_payne

Congrats on the sales!
I don’t really have any advice except could you make it a novel of at least 80k. I don’t even write novelettes because they’re hard to sell. A long story for me is 4 or 5k.

13 05 2009
rhfay

Congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
rhfay

Congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
rhfay

Congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
rhfay

Congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
rhfay

Congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
rhfay

Congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
rhfay

Congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
rhfay

Congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
rhfay

Congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
rhfay

Congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
rhfay

Congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
a_r_williams

Congratulations on the sales! Keep em coming.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
a_r_williams

Congratulations on the sales! Keep em coming.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
a_r_williams

Congratulations on the sales! Keep em coming.

13 05 2009
a_r_williams

Congratulations on the sales! Keep em coming.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
a_r_williams

Congratulations on the sales! Keep em coming.

13 05 2009
a_r_williams

Congratulations on the sales! Keep em coming.

13 05 2009
a_r_williams

Congratulations on the sales! Keep em coming.

13 05 2009
a_r_williams

Congratulations on the sales! Keep em coming.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
a_r_williams

Congratulations on the sales! Keep em coming.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
a_r_williams

Congratulations on the sales! Keep em coming.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
a_r_williams

Congratulations on the sales! Keep em coming.

13 05 2009
mariness

I don’t know if Norilana Books is actually accepting anything at this point, but you might try querying them – they do print novellas, and they seem to do a remarkably good job of marketing their anthologies for such a small press.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks for the tip! They do put out some very nice books.

13 05 2009
mariness

I don’t know if Norilana Books is actually accepting anything at this point, but you might try querying them – they do print novellas, and they seem to do a remarkably good job of marketing their anthologies for such a small press.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks for the tip! They do put out some very nice books.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks for the tip! They do put out some very nice books.

13 05 2009
mariness

I don’t know if Norilana Books is actually accepting anything at this point, but you might try querying them – they do print novellas, and they seem to do a remarkably good job of marketing their anthologies for such a small press.

13 05 2009
mariness

I don’t know if Norilana Books is actually accepting anything at this point, but you might try querying them – they do print novellas, and they seem to do a remarkably good job of marketing their anthologies for such a small press.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks for the tip! They do put out some very nice books.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks for the tip! They do put out some very nice books.

13 05 2009
mariness

I don’t know if Norilana Books is actually accepting anything at this point, but you might try querying them – they do print novellas, and they seem to do a remarkably good job of marketing their anthologies for such a small press.

13 05 2009
mariness

I don’t know if Norilana Books is actually accepting anything at this point, but you might try querying them – they do print novellas, and they seem to do a remarkably good job of marketing their anthologies for such a small press.

13 05 2009
mariness

I don’t know if Norilana Books is actually accepting anything at this point, but you might try querying them – they do print novellas, and they seem to do a remarkably good job of marketing their anthologies for such a small press.

13 05 2009
mariness

I don’t know if Norilana Books is actually accepting anything at this point, but you might try querying them – they do print novellas, and they seem to do a remarkably good job of marketing their anthologies for such a small press.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks for the tip! They do put out some very nice books.

13 05 2009
mariness

I don’t know if Norilana Books is actually accepting anything at this point, but you might try querying them – they do print novellas, and they seem to do a remarkably good job of marketing their anthologies for such a small press.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks for the tip! They do put out some very nice books.

13 05 2009
mariness

I don’t know if Norilana Books is actually accepting anything at this point, but you might try querying them – they do print novellas, and they seem to do a remarkably good job of marketing their anthologies for such a small press.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks for the tip! They do put out some very nice books.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks for the tip! They do put out some very nice books.

13 05 2009
mariness

I don’t know if Norilana Books is actually accepting anything at this point, but you might try querying them – they do print novellas, and they seem to do a remarkably good job of marketing their anthologies for such a small press.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

Last I knew, any story over 40k is considered a novel by the SFWA. Used to be that paperback fiction writers had to aim for 60-70k. Now I hear there’s a push for twice that, obviously a conspiracy by the paper mills to halve the writer’s pay _yet again_. It’s a nightmare for conscientious writers like myself who’d like to be paid for all of the words we don’t use to tell a story.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s my problem. I grew up reading those tiny pocket genre books I found at a local used book store. I love the short novel and feel it is perfect for science fiction. Modern audiences/publishers unfortunately disagree.

Had I the time/money/resources and kept Southern Fried Weirdness Press running, I was planning on printing short novels in the 50-60k range just because I personally really miss the old pocket novels.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

How can you miss the old pocket novels? They’ve been around so long…

Seriously, you made a choice to quit SFW — fatherhood before genre, right? Still, you’ll find short novels and markets for them if you don’t quit looking and money is no object.

On the other hand, I’m conflicted; part of professionalism involves a compromise with modern audiences and publishers.

14 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s true. I can still find the old pocket novels, but usually in specialty shops or online, but, generally, they are not on the big box bookstore shelves. It seems most of the MM paperback publishers with good distribution keep their books in the 80-100k range just based on a superficial and extremely unscientific survey I did the other day at the drugstore waiting for an Rx for my son’s ear infection.

I sometimes think that graphic novels/manga may have taken the place and audience of the short pocket novels. Art evolves like everything else, after all, and that is really the way it should be.

14 05 2009
bearleyport

I don’t think it’s the art that has changed so much as the marketing. SF used to be written for young adults, and you can still find a lot of 40-50k novels but under the YA not the SF label.

Sorry to hear about the ear infections. I had them as a kid.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

Last I knew, any story over 40k is considered a novel by the SFWA. Used to be that paperback fiction writers had to aim for 60-70k. Now I hear there’s a push for twice that, obviously a conspiracy by the paper mills to halve the writer’s pay _yet again_. It’s a nightmare for conscientious writers like myself who’d like to be paid for all of the words we don’t use to tell a story.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s my problem. I grew up reading those tiny pocket genre books I found at a local used book store. I love the short novel and feel it is perfect for science fiction. Modern audiences/publishers unfortunately disagree.

Had I the time/money/resources and kept Southern Fried Weirdness Press running, I was planning on printing short novels in the 50-60k range just because I personally really miss the old pocket novels.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

How can you miss the old pocket novels? They’ve been around so long…

Seriously, you made a choice to quit SFW — fatherhood before genre, right? Still, you’ll find short novels and markets for them if you don’t quit looking and money is no object.

On the other hand, I’m conflicted; part of professionalism involves a compromise with modern audiences and publishers.

14 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s true. I can still find the old pocket novels, but usually in specialty shops or online, but, generally, they are not on the big box bookstore shelves. It seems most of the MM paperback publishers with good distribution keep their books in the 80-100k range just based on a superficial and extremely unscientific survey I did the other day at the drugstore waiting for an Rx for my son’s ear infection.

I sometimes think that graphic novels/manga may have taken the place and audience of the short pocket novels. Art evolves like everything else, after all, and that is really the way it should be.

14 05 2009
bearleyport

I don’t think it’s the art that has changed so much as the marketing. SF used to be written for young adults, and you can still find a lot of 40-50k novels but under the YA not the SF label.

Sorry to hear about the ear infections. I had them as a kid.

14 05 2009
bearleyport

I don’t think it’s the art that has changed so much as the marketing. SF used to be written for young adults, and you can still find a lot of 40-50k novels but under the YA not the SF label.

Sorry to hear about the ear infections. I had them as a kid.

14 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s true. I can still find the old pocket novels, but usually in specialty shops or online, but, generally, they are not on the big box bookstore shelves. It seems most of the MM paperback publishers with good distribution keep their books in the 80-100k range just based on a superficial and extremely unscientific survey I did the other day at the drugstore waiting for an Rx for my son’s ear infection.

I sometimes think that graphic novels/manga may have taken the place and audience of the short pocket novels. Art evolves like everything else, after all, and that is really the way it should be.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

How can you miss the old pocket novels? They’ve been around so long…

Seriously, you made a choice to quit SFW — fatherhood before genre, right? Still, you’ll find short novels and markets for them if you don’t quit looking and money is no object.

On the other hand, I’m conflicted; part of professionalism involves a compromise with modern audiences and publishers.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s my problem. I grew up reading those tiny pocket genre books I found at a local used book store. I love the short novel and feel it is perfect for science fiction. Modern audiences/publishers unfortunately disagree.

Had I the time/money/resources and kept Southern Fried Weirdness Press running, I was planning on printing short novels in the 50-60k range just because I personally really miss the old pocket novels.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

Last I knew, any story over 40k is considered a novel by the SFWA. Used to be that paperback fiction writers had to aim for 60-70k. Now I hear there’s a push for twice that, obviously a conspiracy by the paper mills to halve the writer’s pay _yet again_. It’s a nightmare for conscientious writers like myself who’d like to be paid for all of the words we don’t use to tell a story.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

Last I knew, any story over 40k is considered a novel by the SFWA. Used to be that paperback fiction writers had to aim for 60-70k. Now I hear there’s a push for twice that, obviously a conspiracy by the paper mills to halve the writer’s pay _yet again_. It’s a nightmare for conscientious writers like myself who’d like to be paid for all of the words we don’t use to tell a story.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s my problem. I grew up reading those tiny pocket genre books I found at a local used book store. I love the short novel and feel it is perfect for science fiction. Modern audiences/publishers unfortunately disagree.

Had I the time/money/resources and kept Southern Fried Weirdness Press running, I was planning on printing short novels in the 50-60k range just because I personally really miss the old pocket novels.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

How can you miss the old pocket novels? They’ve been around so long…

Seriously, you made a choice to quit SFW — fatherhood before genre, right? Still, you’ll find short novels and markets for them if you don’t quit looking and money is no object.

On the other hand, I’m conflicted; part of professionalism involves a compromise with modern audiences and publishers.

14 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s true. I can still find the old pocket novels, but usually in specialty shops or online, but, generally, they are not on the big box bookstore shelves. It seems most of the MM paperback publishers with good distribution keep their books in the 80-100k range just based on a superficial and extremely unscientific survey I did the other day at the drugstore waiting for an Rx for my son’s ear infection.

I sometimes think that graphic novels/manga may have taken the place and audience of the short pocket novels. Art evolves like everything else, after all, and that is really the way it should be.

14 05 2009
bearleyport

I don’t think it’s the art that has changed so much as the marketing. SF used to be written for young adults, and you can still find a lot of 40-50k novels but under the YA not the SF label.

Sorry to hear about the ear infections. I had them as a kid.

14 05 2009
bearleyport

I don’t think it’s the art that has changed so much as the marketing. SF used to be written for young adults, and you can still find a lot of 40-50k novels but under the YA not the SF label.

Sorry to hear about the ear infections. I had them as a kid.

14 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s true. I can still find the old pocket novels, but usually in specialty shops or online, but, generally, they are not on the big box bookstore shelves. It seems most of the MM paperback publishers with good distribution keep their books in the 80-100k range just based on a superficial and extremely unscientific survey I did the other day at the drugstore waiting for an Rx for my son’s ear infection.

I sometimes think that graphic novels/manga may have taken the place and audience of the short pocket novels. Art evolves like everything else, after all, and that is really the way it should be.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

How can you miss the old pocket novels? They’ve been around so long…

Seriously, you made a choice to quit SFW — fatherhood before genre, right? Still, you’ll find short novels and markets for them if you don’t quit looking and money is no object.

On the other hand, I’m conflicted; part of professionalism involves a compromise with modern audiences and publishers.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s my problem. I grew up reading those tiny pocket genre books I found at a local used book store. I love the short novel and feel it is perfect for science fiction. Modern audiences/publishers unfortunately disagree.

Had I the time/money/resources and kept Southern Fried Weirdness Press running, I was planning on printing short novels in the 50-60k range just because I personally really miss the old pocket novels.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

Last I knew, any story over 40k is considered a novel by the SFWA. Used to be that paperback fiction writers had to aim for 60-70k. Now I hear there’s a push for twice that, obviously a conspiracy by the paper mills to halve the writer’s pay _yet again_. It’s a nightmare for conscientious writers like myself who’d like to be paid for all of the words we don’t use to tell a story.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

Last I knew, any story over 40k is considered a novel by the SFWA. Used to be that paperback fiction writers had to aim for 60-70k. Now I hear there’s a push for twice that, obviously a conspiracy by the paper mills to halve the writer’s pay _yet again_. It’s a nightmare for conscientious writers like myself who’d like to be paid for all of the words we don’t use to tell a story.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

Last I knew, any story over 40k is considered a novel by the SFWA. Used to be that paperback fiction writers had to aim for 60-70k. Now I hear there’s a push for twice that, obviously a conspiracy by the paper mills to halve the writer’s pay _yet again_. It’s a nightmare for conscientious writers like myself who’d like to be paid for all of the words we don’t use to tell a story.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

Last I knew, any story over 40k is considered a novel by the SFWA. Used to be that paperback fiction writers had to aim for 60-70k. Now I hear there’s a push for twice that, obviously a conspiracy by the paper mills to halve the writer’s pay _yet again_. It’s a nightmare for conscientious writers like myself who’d like to be paid for all of the words we don’t use to tell a story.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s my problem. I grew up reading those tiny pocket genre books I found at a local used book store. I love the short novel and feel it is perfect for science fiction. Modern audiences/publishers unfortunately disagree.

Had I the time/money/resources and kept Southern Fried Weirdness Press running, I was planning on printing short novels in the 50-60k range just because I personally really miss the old pocket novels.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

How can you miss the old pocket novels? They’ve been around so long…

Seriously, you made a choice to quit SFW — fatherhood before genre, right? Still, you’ll find short novels and markets for them if you don’t quit looking and money is no object.

On the other hand, I’m conflicted; part of professionalism involves a compromise with modern audiences and publishers.

14 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s true. I can still find the old pocket novels, but usually in specialty shops or online, but, generally, they are not on the big box bookstore shelves. It seems most of the MM paperback publishers with good distribution keep their books in the 80-100k range just based on a superficial and extremely unscientific survey I did the other day at the drugstore waiting for an Rx for my son’s ear infection.

I sometimes think that graphic novels/manga may have taken the place and audience of the short pocket novels. Art evolves like everything else, after all, and that is really the way it should be.

14 05 2009
bearleyport

I don’t think it’s the art that has changed so much as the marketing. SF used to be written for young adults, and you can still find a lot of 40-50k novels but under the YA not the SF label.

Sorry to hear about the ear infections. I had them as a kid.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

Last I knew, any story over 40k is considered a novel by the SFWA. Used to be that paperback fiction writers had to aim for 60-70k. Now I hear there’s a push for twice that, obviously a conspiracy by the paper mills to halve the writer’s pay _yet again_. It’s a nightmare for conscientious writers like myself who’d like to be paid for all of the words we don’t use to tell a story.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s my problem. I grew up reading those tiny pocket genre books I found at a local used book store. I love the short novel and feel it is perfect for science fiction. Modern audiences/publishers unfortunately disagree.

Had I the time/money/resources and kept Southern Fried Weirdness Press running, I was planning on printing short novels in the 50-60k range just because I personally really miss the old pocket novels.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

How can you miss the old pocket novels? They’ve been around so long…

Seriously, you made a choice to quit SFW — fatherhood before genre, right? Still, you’ll find short novels and markets for them if you don’t quit looking and money is no object.

On the other hand, I’m conflicted; part of professionalism involves a compromise with modern audiences and publishers.

14 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s true. I can still find the old pocket novels, but usually in specialty shops or online, but, generally, they are not on the big box bookstore shelves. It seems most of the MM paperback publishers with good distribution keep their books in the 80-100k range just based on a superficial and extremely unscientific survey I did the other day at the drugstore waiting for an Rx for my son’s ear infection.

I sometimes think that graphic novels/manga may have taken the place and audience of the short pocket novels. Art evolves like everything else, after all, and that is really the way it should be.

14 05 2009
bearleyport

I don’t think it’s the art that has changed so much as the marketing. SF used to be written for young adults, and you can still find a lot of 40-50k novels but under the YA not the SF label.

Sorry to hear about the ear infections. I had them as a kid.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

Last I knew, any story over 40k is considered a novel by the SFWA. Used to be that paperback fiction writers had to aim for 60-70k. Now I hear there’s a push for twice that, obviously a conspiracy by the paper mills to halve the writer’s pay _yet again_. It’s a nightmare for conscientious writers like myself who’d like to be paid for all of the words we don’t use to tell a story.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s my problem. I grew up reading those tiny pocket genre books I found at a local used book store. I love the short novel and feel it is perfect for science fiction. Modern audiences/publishers unfortunately disagree.
Had I the time/money/resources and kept Southern Fried Weirdness Press running, I was planning on printing short novels in the 50-60k range just because I personally really miss the old pocket novels.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

How can you miss the old pocket novels? They’ve been around so long…
Seriously, you made a choice to quit SFW — fatherhood before genre, right? Still, you’ll find short novels and markets for them if you don’t quit looking and money is no object.
On the other hand, I’m conflicted; part of professionalism involves a compromise with modern audiences and publishers.

14 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s true. I can still find the old pocket novels, but usually in specialty shops or online, but, generally, they are not on the big box bookstore shelves. It seems most of the MM paperback publishers with good distribution keep their books in the 80-100k range just based on a superficial and extremely unscientific survey I did the other day at the drugstore waiting for an Rx for my son’s ear infection.
I sometimes think that graphic novels/manga may have taken the place and audience of the short pocket novels. Art evolves like everything else, after all, and that is really the way it should be.

14 05 2009
bearleyport

I don’t think it’s the art that has changed so much as the marketing. SF used to be written for young adults, and you can still find a lot of 40-50k novels but under the YA not the SF label.
Sorry to hear about the ear infections. I had them as a kid.

14 05 2009
bearleyport

I don’t think it’s the art that has changed so much as the marketing. SF used to be written for young adults, and you can still find a lot of 40-50k novels but under the YA not the SF label.
Sorry to hear about the ear infections. I had them as a kid.

14 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s true. I can still find the old pocket novels, but usually in specialty shops or online, but, generally, they are not on the big box bookstore shelves. It seems most of the MM paperback publishers with good distribution keep their books in the 80-100k range just based on a superficial and extremely unscientific survey I did the other day at the drugstore waiting for an Rx for my son’s ear infection.
I sometimes think that graphic novels/manga may have taken the place and audience of the short pocket novels. Art evolves like everything else, after all, and that is really the way it should be.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

How can you miss the old pocket novels? They’ve been around so long…
Seriously, you made a choice to quit SFW — fatherhood before genre, right? Still, you’ll find short novels and markets for them if you don’t quit looking and money is no object.
On the other hand, I’m conflicted; part of professionalism involves a compromise with modern audiences and publishers.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s my problem. I grew up reading those tiny pocket genre books I found at a local used book store. I love the short novel and feel it is perfect for science fiction. Modern audiences/publishers unfortunately disagree.
Had I the time/money/resources and kept Southern Fried Weirdness Press running, I was planning on printing short novels in the 50-60k range just because I personally really miss the old pocket novels.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

Last I knew, any story over 40k is considered a novel by the SFWA. Used to be that paperback fiction writers had to aim for 60-70k. Now I hear there’s a push for twice that, obviously a conspiracy by the paper mills to halve the writer’s pay _yet again_. It’s a nightmare for conscientious writers like myself who’d like to be paid for all of the words we don’t use to tell a story.

13 05 2009
babarnett

I don’t have any useful comments to offer on the other stuff, but congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
babarnett

I don’t have any useful comments to offer on the other stuff, but congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
babarnett

I don’t have any useful comments to offer on the other stuff, but congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
babarnett

I don’t have any useful comments to offer on the other stuff, but congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
babarnett

I don’t have any useful comments to offer on the other stuff, but congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
babarnett

I don’t have any useful comments to offer on the other stuff, but congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
babarnett

I don’t have any useful comments to offer on the other stuff, but congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
babarnett

I don’t have any useful comments to offer on the other stuff, but congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
babarnett

I don’t have any useful comments to offer on the other stuff, but congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
babarnett

I don’t have any useful comments to offer on the other stuff, but congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
babarnett

I don’t have any useful comments to offer on the other stuff, but congrats on the sales!

13 05 2009
kmarkhoover

Congratulations on the sales, that is awesome. As for the writing organization, I say go ahead and join. They are always a great way to network.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! 🙂

I guess I’ll start getting the paperwork together.

13 05 2009
kmarkhoover

Congratulations on the sales, that is awesome. As for the writing organization, I say go ahead and join. They are always a great way to network.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! 🙂

I guess I’ll start getting the paperwork together.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! 🙂

I guess I’ll start getting the paperwork together.

13 05 2009
kmarkhoover

Congratulations on the sales, that is awesome. As for the writing organization, I say go ahead and join. They are always a great way to network.

13 05 2009
kmarkhoover

Congratulations on the sales, that is awesome. As for the writing organization, I say go ahead and join. They are always a great way to network.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! 🙂

I guess I’ll start getting the paperwork together.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! 🙂

I guess I’ll start getting the paperwork together.

13 05 2009
kmarkhoover

Congratulations on the sales, that is awesome. As for the writing organization, I say go ahead and join. They are always a great way to network.

13 05 2009
kmarkhoover

Congratulations on the sales, that is awesome. As for the writing organization, I say go ahead and join. They are always a great way to network.

13 05 2009
kmarkhoover

Congratulations on the sales, that is awesome. As for the writing organization, I say go ahead and join. They are always a great way to network.

13 05 2009
kmarkhoover

Congratulations on the sales, that is awesome. As for the writing organization, I say go ahead and join. They are always a great way to network.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! 🙂

I guess I’ll start getting the paperwork together.

13 05 2009
kmarkhoover

Congratulations on the sales, that is awesome. As for the writing organization, I say go ahead and join. They are always a great way to network.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! 🙂

I guess I’ll start getting the paperwork together.

13 05 2009
kmarkhoover

Congratulations on the sales, that is awesome. As for the writing organization, I say go ahead and join. They are always a great way to network.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! 🙂
I guess I’ll start getting the paperwork together.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! 🙂
I guess I’ll start getting the paperwork together.

13 05 2009
kmarkhoover

Congratulations on the sales, that is awesome. As for the writing organization, I say go ahead and join. They are always a great way to network.

13 05 2009
jongibbs

Excellent! Well done 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I appreciate that! 🙂

13 05 2009
jongibbs

Excellent! Well done 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I appreciate that! 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I appreciate that! 🙂

13 05 2009
jongibbs

Excellent! Well done 🙂

13 05 2009
jongibbs

Excellent! Well done 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I appreciate that! 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I appreciate that! 🙂

13 05 2009
jongibbs

Excellent! Well done 🙂

13 05 2009
jongibbs

Excellent! Well done 🙂

13 05 2009
jongibbs

Excellent! Well done 🙂

13 05 2009
jongibbs

Excellent! Well done 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I appreciate that! 🙂

13 05 2009
jongibbs

Excellent! Well done 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I appreciate that! 🙂

13 05 2009
jongibbs

Excellent! Well done 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I appreciate that! 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I appreciate that! 🙂

13 05 2009
jongibbs

Excellent! Well done 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

At least summer’s just around the corner. Do you have big plans?

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

At least summer’s just around the corner. Do you have big plans?

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I fear I would have to pack it full of too much filler to reach 80k. I feel it’s is pretty tight as it is, but we’ll see once I start the second draft.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I fear I would have to pack it full of too much filler to reach 80k. I feel it’s is pretty tight as it is, but we’ll see once I start the second draft.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks for the tip! They do put out some very nice books.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks for the tip! They do put out some very nice books.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s my problem. I grew up reading those tiny pocket genre books I found at a local used book store. I love the short novel and feel it is perfect for science fiction. Modern audiences/publishers unfortunately disagree.

Had I the time/money/resources and kept Southern Fried Weirdness Press running, I was planning on printing short novels in the 50-60k range just because I personally really miss the old pocket novels.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s my problem. I grew up reading those tiny pocket genre books I found at a local used book store. I love the short novel and feel it is perfect for science fiction. Modern audiences/publishers unfortunately disagree.

Had I the time/money/resources and kept Southern Fried Weirdness Press running, I was planning on printing short novels in the 50-60k range just because I personally really miss the old pocket novels.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks!

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I appreciate that! 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

I appreciate that! 🙂

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! 🙂

I guess I’ll start getting the paperwork together.

13 05 2009
southernweirdo

Thanks! 🙂

I guess I’ll start getting the paperwork together.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

How can you miss the old pocket novels? They’ve been around so long…

Seriously, you made a choice to quit SFW — fatherhood before genre, right? Still, you’ll find short novels and markets for them if you don’t quit looking and money is no object.

On the other hand, I’m conflicted; part of professionalism involves a compromise with modern audiences and publishers.

13 05 2009
bearleyport

How can you miss the old pocket novels? They’ve been around so long…

Seriously, you made a choice to quit SFW — fatherhood before genre, right? Still, you’ll find short novels and markets for them if you don’t quit looking and money is no object.

On the other hand, I’m conflicted; part of professionalism involves a compromise with modern audiences and publishers.

14 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s true. I can still find the old pocket novels, but usually in specialty shops or online, but, generally, they are not on the big box bookstore shelves. It seems most of the MM paperback publishers with good distribution keep their books in the 80-100k range just based on a superficial and extremely unscientific survey I did the other day at the drugstore waiting for an Rx for my son’s ear infection.

I sometimes think that graphic novels/manga may have taken the place and audience of the short pocket novels. Art evolves like everything else, after all, and that is really the way it should be.

14 05 2009
southernweirdo

That’s true. I can still find the old pocket novels, but usually in specialty shops or online, but, generally, they are not on the big box bookstore shelves. It seems most of the MM paperback publishers with good distribution keep their books in the 80-100k range just based on a superficial and extremely unscientific survey I did the other day at the drugstore waiting for an Rx for my son’s ear infection.

I sometimes think that graphic novels/manga may have taken the place and audience of the short pocket novels. Art evolves like everything else, after all, and that is really the way it should be.

14 05 2009
bearleyport

I don’t think it’s the art that has changed so much as the marketing. SF used to be written for young adults, and you can still find a lot of 40-50k novels but under the YA not the SF label.

Sorry to hear about the ear infections. I had them as a kid.

14 05 2009
bearleyport

I don’t think it’s the art that has changed so much as the marketing. SF used to be written for young adults, and you can still find a lot of 40-50k novels but under the YA not the SF label.

Sorry to hear about the ear infections. I had them as a kid.

15 05 2009
Anonymous

congrats on the sale, RPM just published a short of mine as well (issue 3) As far as a 45K book, is there the possibility of publishing it as a YA book? That is the perfect length for many of them.

15 05 2009
Anonymous

congrats on the sale, RPM just published a short of mine as well (issue 3) As far as a 45K book, is there the possibility of publishing it as a YA book? That is the perfect length for many of them.

15 05 2009
Anonymous

congrats on the sale, RPM just published a short of mine as well (issue 3) As far as a 45K book, is there the possibility of publishing it as a YA book? That is the perfect length for many of them.

15 05 2009
Anonymous

congrats on the sale, RPM just published a short of mine as well (issue 3) As far as a 45K book, is there the possibility of publishing it as a YA book? That is the perfect length for many of them.

15 05 2009
Anonymous

congrats on the sale, RPM just published a short of mine as well (issue 3) As far as a 45K book, is there the possibility of publishing it as a YA book? That is the perfect length for many of them.

15 05 2009
Anonymous

congrats on the sale, RPM just published a short of mine as well (issue 3) As far as a 45K book, is there the possibility of publishing it as a YA book? That is the perfect length for many of them.

15 05 2009
Anonymous

congrats on the sale, RPM just published a short of mine as well (issue 3) As far as a 45K book, is there the possibility of publishing it as a YA book? That is the perfect length for many of them.

15 05 2009
Anonymous

congrats on the sale, RPM just published a short of mine as well (issue 3) As far as a 45K book, is there the possibility of publishing it as a YA book? That is the perfect length for many of them.

15 05 2009
Anonymous

congrats on the sale, RPM just published a short of mine as well (issue 3) As far as a 45K book, is there the possibility of publishing it as a YA book? That is the perfect length for many of them.

15 05 2009
Anonymous

congrats on the sale, RPM just published a short of mine as well (issue 3) As far as a 45K book, is there the possibility of publishing it as a YA book? That is the perfect length for many of them.

15 05 2009
Anonymous

congrats on the sale, RPM just published a short of mine as well (issue 3) As far as a 45K book, is there the possibility of publishing it as a YA book? That is the perfect length for many of them.

Leave a Reply

