Why is this not getting more news coverage?

24 03 2009

As most of you already know, I rarely speak out on political issues, but this is really bothering me.

I am disturbed by H.R. 1388, otherwise known as the Generations Invigorating Volunteerism and Education (GIVE) Act — http://www.govtrack.us/congress/bill.xpd?bill=h111-1388&tab=amendments

The summary of the bill shows many good intentions, but here’s what just doesn’t sit right with me — Amendment 12 reads: "Amendment to prohibit organizations from attempting to influence legislation; organize or engage in protests, petitions, boycotts, or strikes; and assist, promote, or deter union organizing."

Is this not taking away volunteers’ (who are by definition individual citizens) right to free speech? This has already passed through the House. Scary stuff…

Actions

Information

44 responses

25 03 2009
selfavowedgeek

Like you, I shy from the political in the blogosphere when I can help it.

Thanks for your post, T.J.

As much as it disturbs me, thank you.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

No problem.

25 03 2009
selfavowedgeek

Like you, I shy from the political in the blogosphere when I can help it.

Thanks for your post, T.J.

As much as it disturbs me, thank you.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

No problem.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

No problem.

25 03 2009
selfavowedgeek

Like you, I shy from the political in the blogosphere when I can help it.

Thanks for your post, T.J.

As much as it disturbs me, thank you.

25 03 2009
selfavowedgeek

Like you, I shy from the political in the blogosphere when I can help it.

Thanks for your post, T.J.

As much as it disturbs me, thank you.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

No problem.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

No problem.

25 03 2009
selfavowedgeek

Like you, I shy from the political in the blogosphere when I can help it.

Thanks for your post, T.J.

As much as it disturbs me, thank you.

25 03 2009
selfavowedgeek

Like you, I shy from the political in the blogosphere when I can help it.

Thanks for your post, T.J.

As much as it disturbs me, thank you.

25 03 2009
selfavowedgeek

Like you, I shy from the political in the blogosphere when I can help it.

Thanks for your post, T.J.

As much as it disturbs me, thank you.

25 03 2009
selfavowedgeek

Like you, I shy from the political in the blogosphere when I can help it.

Thanks for your post, T.J.

As much as it disturbs me, thank you.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

No problem.

25 03 2009
selfavowedgeek

Like you, I shy from the political in the blogosphere when I can help it.

Thanks for your post, T.J.

As much as it disturbs me, thank you.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

No problem.

25 03 2009
selfavowedgeek

Like you, I shy from the political in the blogosphere when I can help it.
Thanks for your post, T.J.
As much as it disturbs me, thank you.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

No problem.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

No problem.

25 03 2009
selfavowedgeek

Like you, I shy from the political in the blogosphere when I can help it.
Thanks for your post, T.J.
As much as it disturbs me, thank you.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

No problem.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

No problem.

25 03 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

I think a lot of politicians really, really do not want to hear what people think and will take every opportunity to stifle it. They’ve long since decided not to honor the Constitution and Bill of Rights, because hey, that “petition the government for a redress of grievances” right is a damned pain in the ass for them.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

I think you must be right. That’s why I felt the need to speak up on this one.

25 03 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

I think a lot of politicians really, really do not want to hear what people think and will take every opportunity to stifle it. They’ve long since decided not to honor the Constitution and Bill of Rights, because hey, that “petition the government for a redress of grievances” right is a damned pain in the ass for them.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

I think you must be right. That’s why I felt the need to speak up on this one.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

I think you must be right. That’s why I felt the need to speak up on this one.

25 03 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

I think a lot of politicians really, really do not want to hear what people think and will take every opportunity to stifle it. They’ve long since decided not to honor the Constitution and Bill of Rights, because hey, that “petition the government for a redress of grievances” right is a damned pain in the ass for them.

25 03 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

I think a lot of politicians really, really do not want to hear what people think and will take every opportunity to stifle it. They’ve long since decided not to honor the Constitution and Bill of Rights, because hey, that “petition the government for a redress of grievances” right is a damned pain in the ass for them.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

I think you must be right. That’s why I felt the need to speak up on this one.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

I think you must be right. That’s why I felt the need to speak up on this one.

25 03 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

I think a lot of politicians really, really do not want to hear what people think and will take every opportunity to stifle it. They’ve long since decided not to honor the Constitution and Bill of Rights, because hey, that “petition the government for a redress of grievances” right is a damned pain in the ass for them.

25 03 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

I think a lot of politicians really, really do not want to hear what people think and will take every opportunity to stifle it. They’ve long since decided not to honor the Constitution and Bill of Rights, because hey, that “petition the government for a redress of grievances” right is a damned pain in the ass for them.

25 03 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

I think a lot of politicians really, really do not want to hear what people think and will take every opportunity to stifle it. They’ve long since decided not to honor the Constitution and Bill of Rights, because hey, that “petition the government for a redress of grievances” right is a damned pain in the ass for them.

25 03 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

I think a lot of politicians really, really do not want to hear what people think and will take every opportunity to stifle it. They’ve long since decided not to honor the Constitution and Bill of Rights, because hey, that “petition the government for a redress of grievances” right is a damned pain in the ass for them.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

I think you must be right. That’s why I felt the need to speak up on this one.

25 03 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts

I think a lot of politicians really, really do not want to hear what people think and will take every opportunity to stifle it. They’ve long since decided not to honor the Constitution and Bill of Rights, because hey, that “petition the government for a redress of grievances” right is a damned pain in the ass for them.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

I think you must be right. That’s why I felt the need to speak up on this one.

25 03 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts
I think a lot of politicians really, really do not want to hear what people think and will take every opportunity to stifle it. They’ve long since decided not to honor the Constitution and Bill of Rights, because hey, that “petition the government for a redress of grievances” right is a damned pain in the ass for them.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts
I think you must be right. That’s why I felt the need to speak up on this one.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts
I think you must be right. That’s why I felt the need to speak up on this one.

25 03 2009
ysabetwordsmith

Thoughts
I think a lot of politicians really, really do not want to hear what people think and will take every opportunity to stifle it. They’ve long since decided not to honor the Constitution and Bill of Rights, because hey, that “petition the government for a redress of grievances” right is a damned pain in the ass for them.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

I think you must be right. That’s why I felt the need to speak up on this one.

25 03 2009
southernweirdo

Re: Thoughts

I think you must be right. That’s why I felt the need to speak up on this one.

Leave a Reply

