Beers…(in other words, I’ve got absolutely nothing to blog about)

11 12 2008

I don’t drink too often these days, but when I do I want a good beer. Here’s a list of my current favorites (I know, I know. This is one truly thrilling, epic, and important list!):

I’m sure there’s plenty of faulty evidence here (not the best referenced article, I’ll admit), but all the same there are even recent articles pronouncing the health benefits of beer. 

This article from my local paper is really good reading. Beer as a cornerstone of civilization? I guess it makes sense.

What’s your favorite beer?

Actions

Information

90 responses

12 12 2008
grayrose76

I love beer. I love microbrews. My favorite is Apricot Hefeweizen from Pyramid Brewery. It’s awesome.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

An apricot brew? That’s different. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of those before. I’ll have to see if I can find it somewhere around here.

12 12 2008
grayrose76

I love beer. I love microbrews. My favorite is Apricot Hefeweizen from Pyramid Brewery. It’s awesome.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

An apricot brew? That’s different. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of those before. I’ll have to see if I can find it somewhere around here.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

An apricot brew? That’s different. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of those before. I’ll have to see if I can find it somewhere around here.

12 12 2008
grayrose76

I love beer. I love microbrews. My favorite is Apricot Hefeweizen from Pyramid Brewery. It’s awesome.

12 12 2008
grayrose76

I love beer. I love microbrews. My favorite is Apricot Hefeweizen from Pyramid Brewery. It’s awesome.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

An apricot brew? That’s different. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of those before. I’ll have to see if I can find it somewhere around here.

12 12 2008
grayrose76

I love beer. I love microbrews. My favorite is Apricot Hefeweizen from Pyramid Brewery. It’s awesome.

12 12 2008
grayrose76

I love beer. I love microbrews. My favorite is Apricot Hefeweizen from Pyramid Brewery. It’s awesome.

12 12 2008
grayrose76

I love beer. I love microbrews. My favorite is Apricot Hefeweizen from Pyramid Brewery. It’s awesome.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

An apricot brew? That’s different. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of those before. I’ll have to see if I can find it somewhere around here.

12 12 2008
grayrose76

I love beer. I love microbrews. My favorite is Apricot Hefeweizen from Pyramid Brewery. It’s awesome.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

An apricot brew? That’s different. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of those before. I’ll have to see if I can find it somewhere around here.

12 12 2008
grayrose76

I love beer. I love microbrews. My favorite is Apricot Hefeweizen from Pyramid Brewery. It’s awesome.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

An apricot brew? That’s different. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of those before. I’ll have to see if I can find it somewhere around here.

12 12 2008
bearleyport

Aventinus wheat dopplebock, but it’s now going for about $4.50 a bottle. New Belgium brewery (http://www.newbelgium.com/) is domestic and windmill powered, which I like; it’s a bit cheaper too, and sold at the local grocery store. Lately though, I’ve been paying $1.09 for a 22oz can of Steel Reserve.

I’d probably switch to (hard) cider or calvados, if I could find a good supply. That’s what I like about the Aventinus. Some wheat beers taste of banana, this one tastes of apple.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

There’s nothing wrong with a good cheap beer every now and then.

I haven’t seen Aventinus around here. I’ll have to look by some of the specialty shops.

It’s hard to find some specialty brews because of some crazy local laws: http://www.freethehops.org/restrictions/.

I’ve never understood this. It’s fine to buy whiskey, rum, and vodka from the local package store, you can get wines of all stripes at the grocery stores, but no beers with an alcohol content over 6%? This truly is madness. At least I don’t live in a dry county…

14 12 2008
bearleyport

Can you buy beer on Sunday?

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

Nope…not at the grocery stores. Restaurants can serve alcohol. Crazy, huh?

14 12 2008
bearleyport

I think it’s meant to keep people from picking up a keg on their way in to church and doing “the wave” during a fire-and-brimstone service.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

That’s downright silly.

12 12 2008
bearleyport

Aventinus wheat dopplebock, but it’s now going for about $4.50 a bottle. New Belgium brewery (http://www.newbelgium.com/) is domestic and windmill powered, which I like; it’s a bit cheaper too, and sold at the local grocery store. Lately though, I’ve been paying $1.09 for a 22oz can of Steel Reserve.

I’d probably switch to (hard) cider or calvados, if I could find a good supply. That’s what I like about the Aventinus. Some wheat beers taste of banana, this one tastes of apple.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

There’s nothing wrong with a good cheap beer every now and then.

I haven’t seen Aventinus around here. I’ll have to look by some of the specialty shops.

It’s hard to find some specialty brews because of some crazy local laws: http://www.freethehops.org/restrictions/.

I’ve never understood this. It’s fine to buy whiskey, rum, and vodka from the local package store, you can get wines of all stripes at the grocery stores, but no beers with an alcohol content over 6%? This truly is madness. At least I don’t live in a dry county…

14 12 2008
bearleyport

Can you buy beer on Sunday?

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

Nope…not at the grocery stores. Restaurants can serve alcohol. Crazy, huh?

14 12 2008
bearleyport

I think it’s meant to keep people from picking up a keg on their way in to church and doing “the wave” during a fire-and-brimstone service.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

That’s downright silly.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

That’s downright silly.

14 12 2008
bearleyport

I think it’s meant to keep people from picking up a keg on their way in to church and doing “the wave” during a fire-and-brimstone service.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

Nope…not at the grocery stores. Restaurants can serve alcohol. Crazy, huh?

14 12 2008
bearleyport

Can you buy beer on Sunday?

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

There’s nothing wrong with a good cheap beer every now and then.

I haven’t seen Aventinus around here. I’ll have to look by some of the specialty shops.

It’s hard to find some specialty brews because of some crazy local laws: http://www.freethehops.org/restrictions/.

I’ve never understood this. It’s fine to buy whiskey, rum, and vodka from the local package store, you can get wines of all stripes at the grocery stores, but no beers with an alcohol content over 6%? This truly is madness. At least I don’t live in a dry county…

12 12 2008
bearleyport

Aventinus wheat dopplebock, but it’s now going for about $4.50 a bottle. New Belgium brewery (http://www.newbelgium.com/) is domestic and windmill powered, which I like; it’s a bit cheaper too, and sold at the local grocery store. Lately though, I’ve been paying $1.09 for a 22oz can of Steel Reserve.

I’d probably switch to (hard) cider or calvados, if I could find a good supply. That’s what I like about the Aventinus. Some wheat beers taste of banana, this one tastes of apple.

12 12 2008
bearleyport

Aventinus wheat dopplebock, but it’s now going for about $4.50 a bottle. New Belgium brewery (http://www.newbelgium.com/) is domestic and windmill powered, which I like; it’s a bit cheaper too, and sold at the local grocery store. Lately though, I’ve been paying $1.09 for a 22oz can of Steel Reserve.

I’d probably switch to (hard) cider or calvados, if I could find a good supply. That’s what I like about the Aventinus. Some wheat beers taste of banana, this one tastes of apple.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

There’s nothing wrong with a good cheap beer every now and then.

I haven’t seen Aventinus around here. I’ll have to look by some of the specialty shops.

It’s hard to find some specialty brews because of some crazy local laws: http://www.freethehops.org/restrictions/.

I’ve never understood this. It’s fine to buy whiskey, rum, and vodka from the local package store, you can get wines of all stripes at the grocery stores, but no beers with an alcohol content over 6%? This truly is madness. At least I don’t live in a dry county…

14 12 2008
bearleyport

Can you buy beer on Sunday?

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

Nope…not at the grocery stores. Restaurants can serve alcohol. Crazy, huh?

14 12 2008
bearleyport

I think it’s meant to keep people from picking up a keg on their way in to church and doing “the wave” during a fire-and-brimstone service.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

That’s downright silly.

12 12 2008
bearleyport

Aventinus wheat dopplebock, but it’s now going for about $4.50 a bottle. New Belgium brewery (http://www.newbelgium.com/) is domestic and windmill powered, which I like; it’s a bit cheaper too, and sold at the local grocery store. Lately though, I’ve been paying $1.09 for a 22oz can of Steel Reserve.

I’d probably switch to (hard) cider or calvados, if I could find a good supply. That’s what I like about the Aventinus. Some wheat beers taste of banana, this one tastes of apple.

12 12 2008
bearleyport

Aventinus wheat dopplebock, but it’s now going for about $4.50 a bottle. New Belgium brewery (http://www.newbelgium.com/) is domestic and windmill powered, which I like; it’s a bit cheaper too, and sold at the local grocery store. Lately though, I’ve been paying $1.09 for a 22oz can of Steel Reserve.

I’d probably switch to (hard) cider or calvados, if I could find a good supply. That’s what I like about the Aventinus. Some wheat beers taste of banana, this one tastes of apple.

12 12 2008
bearleyport

Aventinus wheat dopplebock, but it’s now going for about $4.50 a bottle. New Belgium brewery (http://www.newbelgium.com/) is domestic and windmill powered, which I like; it’s a bit cheaper too, and sold at the local grocery store. Lately though, I’ve been paying $1.09 for a 22oz can of Steel Reserve.

I’d probably switch to (hard) cider or calvados, if I could find a good supply. That’s what I like about the Aventinus. Some wheat beers taste of banana, this one tastes of apple.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

There’s nothing wrong with a good cheap beer every now and then.

I haven’t seen Aventinus around here. I’ll have to look by some of the specialty shops.

It’s hard to find some specialty brews because of some crazy local laws: http://www.freethehops.org/restrictions/.

I’ve never understood this. It’s fine to buy whiskey, rum, and vodka from the local package store, you can get wines of all stripes at the grocery stores, but no beers with an alcohol content over 6%? This truly is madness. At least I don’t live in a dry county…

14 12 2008
bearleyport

Can you buy beer on Sunday?

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

Nope…not at the grocery stores. Restaurants can serve alcohol. Crazy, huh?

14 12 2008
bearleyport

I think it’s meant to keep people from picking up a keg on their way in to church and doing “the wave” during a fire-and-brimstone service.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

That’s downright silly.

12 12 2008
bearleyport

Aventinus wheat dopplebock, but it’s now going for about $4.50 a bottle. New Belgium brewery (http://www.newbelgium.com/) is domestic and windmill powered, which I like; it’s a bit cheaper too, and sold at the local grocery store. Lately though, I’ve been paying $1.09 for a 22oz can of Steel Reserve.

I’d probably switch to (hard) cider or calvados, if I could find a good supply. That’s what I like about the Aventinus. Some wheat beers taste of banana, this one tastes of apple.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

There’s nothing wrong with a good cheap beer every now and then.

I haven’t seen Aventinus around here. I’ll have to look by some of the specialty shops.

It’s hard to find some specialty brews because of some crazy local laws: http://www.freethehops.org/restrictions/.

I’ve never understood this. It’s fine to buy whiskey, rum, and vodka from the local package store, you can get wines of all stripes at the grocery stores, but no beers with an alcohol content over 6%? This truly is madness. At least I don’t live in a dry county…

14 12 2008
bearleyport

Can you buy beer on Sunday?

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

Nope…not at the grocery stores. Restaurants can serve alcohol. Crazy, huh?

14 12 2008
bearleyport

I think it’s meant to keep people from picking up a keg on their way in to church and doing “the wave” during a fire-and-brimstone service.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

That’s downright silly.

12 12 2008
bearleyport

Aventinus wheat dopplebock, but it’s now going for about $4.50 a bottle. New Belgium brewery (http://www.newbelgium.com/) is domestic and windmill powered, which I like; it’s a bit cheaper too, and sold at the local grocery store. Lately though, I’ve been paying $1.09 for a 22oz can of Steel Reserve.
I’d probably switch to (hard) cider or calvados, if I could find a good supply. That’s what I like about the Aventinus. Some wheat beers taste of banana, this one tastes of apple.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

There’s nothing wrong with a good cheap beer every now and then.
I haven’t seen Aventinus around here. I’ll have to look by some of the specialty shops.
It’s hard to find some specialty brews because of some crazy local laws: http://www.freethehops.org/restrictions/.
I’ve never understood this. It’s fine to buy whiskey, rum, and vodka from the local package store, you can get wines of all stripes at the grocery stores, but no beers with an alcohol content over 6%? This truly is madness. At least I don’t live in a dry county…

14 12 2008
bearleyport

Can you buy beer on Sunday?

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

Nope…not at the grocery stores. Restaurants can serve alcohol. Crazy, huh?

14 12 2008
bearleyport

I think it’s meant to keep people from picking up a keg on their way in to church and doing “the wave” during a fire-and-brimstone service.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

That’s downright silly.

12 12 2008
cafenowhere

“This is one truly thrilling, epic, and important list!”

Yes, it is!

Re: the AskMen.com article: As if I needed another excuse to drink my favorite beer–Woodpecker Cider! And now I’ve also gotten my daily quota of alligator ab pics. Thanks!!

I wonder if I can get the Lazy Magnolia around here. I’ll look around.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

They sell Lazy Magnolia at our local Whole Foods Market. That’s the only place I have seen it on the shelf around here.

12 12 2008
cafenowhere

“This is one truly thrilling, epic, and important list!”

Yes, it is!

Re: the AskMen.com article: As if I needed another excuse to drink my favorite beer–Woodpecker Cider! And now I’ve also gotten my daily quota of alligator ab pics. Thanks!!

I wonder if I can get the Lazy Magnolia around here. I’ll look around.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

They sell Lazy Magnolia at our local Whole Foods Market. That’s the only place I have seen it on the shelf around here.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

They sell Lazy Magnolia at our local Whole Foods Market. That’s the only place I have seen it on the shelf around here.

12 12 2008
cafenowhere

“This is one truly thrilling, epic, and important list!”

Yes, it is!

Re: the AskMen.com article: As if I needed another excuse to drink my favorite beer–Woodpecker Cider! And now I’ve also gotten my daily quota of alligator ab pics. Thanks!!

I wonder if I can get the Lazy Magnolia around here. I’ll look around.

12 12 2008
cafenowhere

“This is one truly thrilling, epic, and important list!”

Yes, it is!

Re: the AskMen.com article: As if I needed another excuse to drink my favorite beer–Woodpecker Cider! And now I’ve also gotten my daily quota of alligator ab pics. Thanks!!

I wonder if I can get the Lazy Magnolia around here. I’ll look around.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

They sell Lazy Magnolia at our local Whole Foods Market. That’s the only place I have seen it on the shelf around here.

12 12 2008
cafenowhere

“This is one truly thrilling, epic, and important list!”

Yes, it is!

Re: the AskMen.com article: As if I needed another excuse to drink my favorite beer–Woodpecker Cider! And now I’ve also gotten my daily quota of alligator ab pics. Thanks!!

I wonder if I can get the Lazy Magnolia around here. I’ll look around.

12 12 2008
cafenowhere

“This is one truly thrilling, epic, and important list!”

Yes, it is!

Re: the AskMen.com article: As if I needed another excuse to drink my favorite beer–Woodpecker Cider! And now I’ve also gotten my daily quota of alligator ab pics. Thanks!!

I wonder if I can get the Lazy Magnolia around here. I’ll look around.

12 12 2008
cafenowhere

“This is one truly thrilling, epic, and important list!”

Yes, it is!

Re: the AskMen.com article: As if I needed another excuse to drink my favorite beer–Woodpecker Cider! And now I’ve also gotten my daily quota of alligator ab pics. Thanks!!

I wonder if I can get the Lazy Magnolia around here. I’ll look around.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

They sell Lazy Magnolia at our local Whole Foods Market. That’s the only place I have seen it on the shelf around here.

12 12 2008
cafenowhere

“This is one truly thrilling, epic, and important list!”

Yes, it is!

Re: the AskMen.com article: As if I needed another excuse to drink my favorite beer–Woodpecker Cider! And now I’ve also gotten my daily quota of alligator ab pics. Thanks!!

I wonder if I can get the Lazy Magnolia around here. I’ll look around.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

They sell Lazy Magnolia at our local Whole Foods Market. That’s the only place I have seen it on the shelf around here.

12 12 2008
cafenowhere

“This is one truly thrilling, epic, and important list!”
Yes, it is!
Re: the AskMen.com article: As if I needed another excuse to drink my favorite beer–Woodpecker Cider! And now I’ve also gotten my daily quota of alligator ab pics. Thanks!!
I wonder if I can get the Lazy Magnolia around here. I’ll look around.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

They sell Lazy Magnolia at our local Whole Foods Market. That’s the only place I have seen it on the shelf around here.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

An apricot brew? That’s different. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of those before. I’ll have to see if I can find it somewhere around here.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

An apricot brew? That’s different. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of those before. I’ll have to see if I can find it somewhere around here.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

There’s nothing wrong with a good cheap beer every now and then.

I haven’t seen Aventinus around here. I’ll have to look by some of the specialty shops.

It’s hard to find some specialty brews because of some crazy local laws: http://www.freethehops.org/restrictions/.

I’ve never understood this. It’s fine to buy whiskey, rum, and vodka from the local package store, you can get wines of all stripes at the grocery stores, but no beers with an alcohol content over 6%? This truly is madness. At least I don’t live in a dry county…

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

There’s nothing wrong with a good cheap beer every now and then.

I haven’t seen Aventinus around here. I’ll have to look by some of the specialty shops.

It’s hard to find some specialty brews because of some crazy local laws: http://www.freethehops.org/restrictions/.

I’ve never understood this. It’s fine to buy whiskey, rum, and vodka from the local package store, you can get wines of all stripes at the grocery stores, but no beers with an alcohol content over 6%? This truly is madness. At least I don’t live in a dry county…

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

They sell Lazy Magnolia at our local Whole Foods Market. That’s the only place I have seen it on the shelf around here.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

They sell Lazy Magnolia at our local Whole Foods Market. That’s the only place I have seen it on the shelf around here.

14 12 2008
bearleyport

Can you buy beer on Sunday?

14 12 2008
bearleyport

Can you buy beer on Sunday?

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

Nope…not at the grocery stores. Restaurants can serve alcohol. Crazy, huh?

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

Nope…not at the grocery stores. Restaurants can serve alcohol. Crazy, huh?

14 12 2008
bearleyport

I think it’s meant to keep people from picking up a keg on their way in to church and doing “the wave” during a fire-and-brimstone service.

14 12 2008
bearleyport

I think it’s meant to keep people from picking up a keg on their way in to church and doing “the wave” during a fire-and-brimstone service.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

That’s downright silly.

14 12 2008
southernweirdo

That’s downright silly.

Leave a Reply

