Riding the swell until it crests…

3 06 2008

I don’t really consider myself a poet, but all the same I’ve been writing a lot of poetry lately. I’ve been inspired to play with form and have been having fun with variations of tankas, haikus, knocking around with some stuff e.e. did, and the fib (a fairly new form to me — thanks David!). Until recently, I never really got into writing poetry with form for fun. Most of my poetry was in the form of random, free-form outbursts. I wrote with form in middle school, high school, and college, of course. I even wrote a handful during those formative years that I can look at today with minimal shuddering. But mostly, it was the free-verse and the random song lyrics I wrote during those younger years that stood out for me and survived several edits to become the poems I am most fond of. My first published works were a trio of these free-verse pieces in a little, now long-defunct print magazine called New Renaissance Writers back in the late ’90’s. One was technically a sonnet I guess, but veered from the format enough to be free-form.

It’s funny how your tastes in writing change over the years. Is my new found enjoyment of poetry with form the result of my more structured schedule?* Is it because I’ve grown more disciplined as a writer and a person?** I guess the reason ultimately doesn’t matter. What matters is the end product, and so far, I’ve been pleased by most of my experimentations. 

On a more personal note, a close friend of the family went into premature labor yesterday. She was only at 23 weeks, 4 days into her pregnancy. Last we heard, the little baby girl (11 inches and just over a pound!) was doing fine, stable, and they were already talking about possibly taking her off the respirator and putting her on a CPAP. Advances in medical science amaze me! Her other child was born premature (he apparently had even more complications) six years ago at this same hospital. She could not believe how different things were, and how much better the technology was for taking care of these little newborns — so little her eyelids are still fused shut. Just ten years ago, most doctors/hospitals would not consider 23 weeks as “viable,” but thanks to modern technology our friend is looking forward to hopefully being able to take home her  2nd “miracle baby” in (I’m guessing) a month or two, barring any complications. Life goes on. I make it a policy not to give out names without permission here, but please keep the baby girl and her family in your thoughts and/or prayers.***

*With two young kids both under 6, a wife, a day job, editing, a fledgling writing career, other friends and family, my yard, not to mention the various charitable causes I sign up for vying for my time, I have to be more structured than I was at 19.
** See above. It requires discipline to maintain this lifestyle. No longer do I get to spend an entire weekend doing nothing but sitting on my keister playing guitar, drinking, smoking, and whining about perceived problems with the world instead of doing something — anything, no matter how small — to remedy those problems. Those were my wasted days. I still mourn for all the ideas I let loose and lost forever because I lacked the discipline at the time to write them down if it required the commitment of more than a couple thousand words or several hours of effort.
*** Depending on your religious preference — or lack thereof. 

Actions

Information

24 responses

4 06 2008
alaneer

Sending prayers for the wee baby.

4 06 2008
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know they appreciate them.

Update: I saw a picture today. The baby’s body is about the size of a dollar bill. She was resting on a newborn baby hat as a blanket. A beanie baby looked like a life-sized bear next to her.

Apparently she’s moving her little arms and legs and seems to be doing well.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Thanks for the update; glad she’s doing well. So tiny, but she’ll grow. I’ll keep her in my prayers.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Sending prayers for the wee baby.

4 06 2008
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know they appreciate them.

Update: I saw a picture today. The baby’s body is about the size of a dollar bill. She was resting on a newborn baby hat as a blanket. A beanie baby looked like a life-sized bear next to her.

Apparently she’s moving her little arms and legs and seems to be doing well.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Thanks for the update; glad she’s doing well. So tiny, but she’ll grow. I’ll keep her in my prayers.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Sending prayers for the wee baby.

4 06 2008
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know they appreciate them.

Update: I saw a picture today. The baby’s body is about the size of a dollar bill. She was resting on a newborn baby hat as a blanket. A beanie baby looked like a life-sized bear next to her.

Apparently she’s moving her little arms and legs and seems to be doing well.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Thanks for the update; glad she’s doing well. So tiny, but she’ll grow. I’ll keep her in my prayers.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Sending prayers for the wee baby.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Sending prayers for the wee baby.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Sending prayers for the wee baby.

4 06 2008
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know they appreciate them.

Update: I saw a picture today. The baby’s body is about the size of a dollar bill. She was resting on a newborn baby hat as a blanket. A beanie baby looked like a life-sized bear next to her.

Apparently she’s moving her little arms and legs and seems to be doing well.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Thanks for the update; glad she’s doing well. So tiny, but she’ll grow. I’ll keep her in my prayers.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Sending prayers for the wee baby.

4 06 2008
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know they appreciate them.

Update: I saw a picture today. The baby’s body is about the size of a dollar bill. She was resting on a newborn baby hat as a blanket. A beanie baby looked like a life-sized bear next to her.

Apparently she’s moving her little arms and legs and seems to be doing well.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Thanks for the update; glad she’s doing well. So tiny, but she’ll grow. I’ll keep her in my prayers.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Sending prayers for the wee baby.

4 06 2008
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know they appreciate them.
Update: I saw a picture today. The baby’s body is about the size of a dollar bill. She was resting on a newborn baby hat as a blanket. A beanie baby looked like a life-sized bear next to her.
Apparently she’s moving her little arms and legs and seems to be doing well.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Thanks for the update; glad she’s doing well. So tiny, but she’ll grow. I’ll keep her in my prayers.

4 06 2008
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know they appreciate them.

Update: I saw a picture today. The baby’s body is about the size of a dollar bill. She was resting on a newborn baby hat as a blanket. A beanie baby looked like a life-sized bear next to her.

Apparently she’s moving her little arms and legs and seems to be doing well.

4 06 2008
southernweirdo

Thanks. I know they appreciate them.

Update: I saw a picture today. The baby’s body is about the size of a dollar bill. She was resting on a newborn baby hat as a blanket. A beanie baby looked like a life-sized bear next to her.

Apparently she’s moving her little arms and legs and seems to be doing well.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Thanks for the update; glad she’s doing well. So tiny, but she’ll grow. I’ll keep her in my prayers.

4 06 2008
alaneer

Thanks for the update; glad she’s doing well. So tiny, but she’ll grow. I’ll keep her in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

