Brief Updates:

10 05 2008
  • It’s been busy, busy, busy around here. Over the last week, I’ve put together some new lawn furniture so we have somewhere to sit when I barbecue, put together an aquarium stand and aquarium for my oldest son’s 5th birthday, conditioned the water, and added a few tiger barbs to the aquarium. Today my son is having his birthday party at a local place with large inflatable slides (just as fun for us adults as the kids), and tomorrow is Mother’s Day, so this weekend is likely to be a blur.
  • My younger son (7 months) started crawling a couple weekends ago and now he is going all over the place . He is now standing up all by himself in his crib with a little help from the rails. How’d that happen? He looks like a toddler when he stands, not like a baby. They just grow too quick.
  • On the editing front, I’ve sorted through all submissions up to April 10th. If you have sent me a submission prior to this date, please send me an email because it was never received. This slush pile keeps growing, and I have been amazed by the quality of stories I have gotten since changing up the format. It has been really tough to reject some of the stories coming in lately. I still need more poetry and nonfiction. I’d also like to see a few more pieces of flash fiction.
  • On the writing front, I’ve been busy putting out a good short story a week lately, mostly flash pieces, but a few have been longer. I’ve put the last novel in my YA trilogy on hold (..and it’s killing me!..I want to get back to my characters…) until I have my outline and notes more structured — I’ve put in too much time and too much of myself into the other two books for this trilogy to not pan out. It’s not like I’m working on a deadline for a publisher — there’s no official rush. Right now, I just have my own expectations to fulfill (and I expect more from myself than I should sometimes). I want to make sure that the ending is as strong as everything leading up to it. I hate nothing more than reading a series of books only to find out they never really went anywhere. It leaves me feeling cheated, and I want to be sure I don’t do that to any future readers. 

Also, to all my LJ friends who are mommas:

Happy Mother’s Day!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

