More Words

15 03 2008

I added another 1200 words to my growing Nordic story, “In the Valley of Shadows.” It is at around 8,500 words, and I’m guessing this first draft is going to end up at or around 10,000 words, a tough length to sell. But whether it sells or not, it has been one of the best times I have had writing in a while. The words are flowing too smoothly — I’m actually trying to dam the flow at times at this one. 

Maybe it’s the scenery? Although I have yet to have an opportunity to visit Iceland, I’ve read about the country’s history extensively through studying the sagas. In preparation, I read about the flora and fauna, and visited many photography blogs devoted to capturing the landscape. It is a truy beautiful place, one I hope to one day visit. In the meantime, I’ve been having a kind of mental vacation there which has been nice.  

On a personal note, today was a good day. I took my family to an Easter Egg hunt. We spent a lot of time at Aldredge Gardens where my son got to see a lot of fish, some very friendly Canadian Geese, and a few turtles. A lot of the trees are budding and blooming, and it felt like spring. Further proof that warm weather is coming is the fact my son was unpleasantly surprised by a water snake while exploring the shoreline of the lake. 

Luckily, both my son and the snake were left unharmed, but I think it shook both of them up a little. My son seemed really more excited than scared. The snake, on the other hand, was clearly terrified as it disappeared immediately. 

I second-guessed my son’s story at first (thinking it was still a little too early in the season for snakes, and knowing how a turtle head seen above the surface can be mistaken for a snake head — not to mention the brief snow showers we have had here just a week earlier) until another lady at the park snapped a picture of the snake with her cellphone. 

Actions

Information

16 responses

16 03 2008
grayrose76

Iceland is beautiful. You absolutely have to go if you are into the sagas. The real deal is much different from the pictures. It is the quality of light, and the air, and the absence of trees that really got me, I think.

I said this before, but I’m really and truly looking forward to reading your story one day. Grettir’s saga is one of my favorites.

16 03 2008
southernweirdo

I love this saga, too. I just hope I’m doing it justice.

16 03 2008
grayrose76

Iceland is beautiful. You absolutely have to go if you are into the sagas. The real deal is much different from the pictures. It is the quality of light, and the air, and the absence of trees that really got me, I think.

I said this before, but I’m really and truly looking forward to reading your story one day. Grettir’s saga is one of my favorites.

16 03 2008
southernweirdo

I love this saga, too. I just hope I’m doing it justice.

16 03 2008
grayrose76

Iceland is beautiful. You absolutely have to go if you are into the sagas. The real deal is much different from the pictures. It is the quality of light, and the air, and the absence of trees that really got me, I think.

I said this before, but I’m really and truly looking forward to reading your story one day. Grettir’s saga is one of my favorites.

16 03 2008
southernweirdo

I love this saga, too. I just hope I’m doing it justice.

16 03 2008
grayrose76

Iceland is beautiful. You absolutely have to go if you are into the sagas. The real deal is much different from the pictures. It is the quality of light, and the air, and the absence of trees that really got me, I think.

I said this before, but I’m really and truly looking forward to reading your story one day. Grettir’s saga is one of my favorites.

16 03 2008
grayrose76

Iceland is beautiful. You absolutely have to go if you are into the sagas. The real deal is much different from the pictures. It is the quality of light, and the air, and the absence of trees that really got me, I think.

I said this before, but I’m really and truly looking forward to reading your story one day. Grettir’s saga is one of my favorites.

16 03 2008
grayrose76

Iceland is beautiful. You absolutely have to go if you are into the sagas. The real deal is much different from the pictures. It is the quality of light, and the air, and the absence of trees that really got me, I think.

I said this before, but I’m really and truly looking forward to reading your story one day. Grettir’s saga is one of my favorites.

16 03 2008
southernweirdo

I love this saga, too. I just hope I’m doing it justice.

16 03 2008
grayrose76

Iceland is beautiful. You absolutely have to go if you are into the sagas. The real deal is much different from the pictures. It is the quality of light, and the air, and the absence of trees that really got me, I think.

I said this before, but I’m really and truly looking forward to reading your story one day. Grettir’s saga is one of my favorites.

16 03 2008
southernweirdo

I love this saga, too. I just hope I’m doing it justice.

16 03 2008
grayrose76

Iceland is beautiful. You absolutely have to go if you are into the sagas. The real deal is much different from the pictures. It is the quality of light, and the air, and the absence of trees that really got me, I think.
I said this before, but I’m really and truly looking forward to reading your story one day. Grettir’s saga is one of my favorites.

16 03 2008
southernweirdo

I love this saga, too. I just hope I’m doing it justice.

16 03 2008
southernweirdo

I love this saga, too. I just hope I’m doing it justice.

16 03 2008
southernweirdo

I love this saga, too. I just hope I’m doing it justice.

Leave a Reply

