I hate when this happens…

7 03 2008

I got in 1500 words on a short story today, and am enjoying every minute. Unfortunately, I’m just about to go over the word limit for the anthology that inspired this one, the words are still coming, and I have a couple thousand more to go before I can wrap it up. It may end up novelette/novella length if I’m not careful. This is one of those reasons why I generally try to avoid writing to a theme. After I get the rough draft done (hopefully by early next week) I think I can edit it down to fit the word limit while retaining all the important elements. I may have to come back to this story later and expand it into a novel by going into more back story and exposition. I think it could be done fairly easily.

I’ve never written historical fiction before. I did a lot of research before picking up a pen and did more plotting than normal for this one. I think it has paid off. The words have been free-flowing: no blocks so far. I’m telling the story of a minor character who plays a very important role in a lesser-known Icelandic saga. It is one of the darker things I’ve written in a while, and I’m scaring myself a little — which is good. I think I’ve done an okay job so far at creating a truly repulsive character while trying to retain his humanity — to as much of an extent as possible.

Actions

Information

40 responses

8 03 2008
markdeniz

Icelandic saga? Is that going where I think it is?

*winks*

8 03 2008
markdeniz

Icelandic saga? Is that going where I think it is?

*winks*

8 03 2008
markdeniz

Icelandic saga? Is that going where I think it is?

*winks*

8 03 2008
markdeniz

Icelandic saga? Is that going where I think it is?

*winks*

8 03 2008
markdeniz

Icelandic saga? Is that going where I think it is?

*winks*

8 03 2008
markdeniz

Icelandic saga? Is that going where I think it is?

*winks*

8 03 2008
markdeniz

Icelandic saga? Is that going where I think it is?

*winks*

8 03 2008
markdeniz

Icelandic saga? Is that going where I think it is?
*winks*

8 03 2008
bondo_ba

Sounds as though the prose is flowing. Congrats! Also sounds like it’s going to the Morrigan books antho (and if not, you might want to consider it – the piece sounds perfect for that one!)! Also want to write a story for that, but haven’t yet begun…

8 03 2008
bondo_ba

Sounds as though the prose is flowing. Congrats! Also sounds like it’s going to the Morrigan books antho (and if not, you might want to consider it – the piece sounds perfect for that one!)! Also want to write a story for that, but haven’t yet begun…

8 03 2008
bondo_ba

Sounds as though the prose is flowing. Congrats! Also sounds like it’s going to the Morrigan books antho (and if not, you might want to consider it – the piece sounds perfect for that one!)! Also want to write a story for that, but haven’t yet begun…

8 03 2008
bondo_ba

Sounds as though the prose is flowing. Congrats! Also sounds like it’s going to the Morrigan books antho (and if not, you might want to consider it – the piece sounds perfect for that one!)! Also want to write a story for that, but haven’t yet begun…

8 03 2008
bondo_ba

Sounds as though the prose is flowing. Congrats! Also sounds like it’s going to the Morrigan books antho (and if not, you might want to consider it – the piece sounds perfect for that one!)! Also want to write a story for that, but haven’t yet begun…

8 03 2008
bondo_ba

Sounds as though the prose is flowing. Congrats! Also sounds like it’s going to the Morrigan books antho (and if not, you might want to consider it – the piece sounds perfect for that one!)! Also want to write a story for that, but haven’t yet begun…

8 03 2008
bondo_ba

Sounds as though the prose is flowing. Congrats! Also sounds like it’s going to the Morrigan books antho (and if not, you might want to consider it – the piece sounds perfect for that one!)! Also want to write a story for that, but haven’t yet begun…

8 03 2008
bondo_ba

Sounds as though the prose is flowing. Congrats! Also sounds like it’s going to the Morrigan books antho (and if not, you might want to consider it – the piece sounds perfect for that one!)! Also want to write a story for that, but haven’t yet begun…

8 03 2008
southernweirdo

Yeah…it’s going to “The Age of Blood and Snow” anthology. I’m hoping to finish the first draft early this week, revise/edit it this upcoming weekend, and send it off. I hope Skadi gets a kick out of it. Even if he doesn’t, it has been a fun one to write.

8 03 2008
southernweirdo

Yeah…it’s going to “The Age of Blood and Snow” anthology. I’m hoping to finish the first draft early this week, revise/edit it this upcoming weekend, and send it off. I hope Skadi gets a kick out of it. Even if he doesn’t, it has been a fun one to write.

8 03 2008
southernweirdo

Yeah…it’s going to “The Age of Blood and Snow” anthology. I’m hoping to finish the first draft early this week, revise/edit it this upcoming weekend, and send it off. I hope Skadi gets a kick out of it. Even if he doesn’t, it has been a fun one to write.

8 03 2008
southernweirdo

Yeah…it’s going to “The Age of Blood and Snow” anthology. I’m hoping to finish the first draft early this week, revise/edit it this upcoming weekend, and send it off. I hope Skadi gets a kick out of it. Even if he doesn’t, it has been a fun one to write.

8 03 2008
southernweirdo

Yeah…it’s going to “The Age of Blood and Snow” anthology. I’m hoping to finish the first draft early this week, revise/edit it this upcoming weekend, and send it off. I hope Skadi gets a kick out of it. Even if he doesn’t, it has been a fun one to write.

8 03 2008
southernweirdo

Yeah…it’s going to “The Age of Blood and Snow” anthology. I’m hoping to finish the first draft early this week, revise/edit it this upcoming weekend, and send it off. I hope Skadi gets a kick out of it. Even if he doesn’t, it has been a fun one to write.

8 03 2008
southernweirdo

Yeah…it’s going to “The Age of Blood and Snow” anthology. I’m hoping to finish the first draft early this week, revise/edit it this upcoming weekend, and send it off. I hope Skadi gets a kick out of it. Even if he doesn’t, it has been a fun one to write.

8 03 2008
southernweirdo

Yeah…it’s going to “The Age of Blood and Snow” anthology. I’m hoping to finish the first draft early this week, revise/edit it this upcoming weekend, and send it off. I hope Skadi gets a kick out of it. Even if he doesn’t, it has been a fun one to write.

8 03 2008
grayrose76

Ohhh nice. Which saga? I’d like to read this!

You don’t have to chop it up to fit the length. There are many markets friendly to Scandinavian-inspired pieces.

9 03 2008
southernweirdo

Without giving too much away, the roots of this story come from “Grettir’s Saga.” My favorite of those I have taken the time to study.

8 03 2008
grayrose76

Ohhh nice. Which saga? I’d like to read this!

You don’t have to chop it up to fit the length. There are many markets friendly to Scandinavian-inspired pieces.

9 03 2008
southernweirdo

Without giving too much away, the roots of this story come from “Grettir’s Saga.” My favorite of those I have taken the time to study.

8 03 2008
grayrose76

Ohhh nice. Which saga? I’d like to read this!

You don’t have to chop it up to fit the length. There are many markets friendly to Scandinavian-inspired pieces.

9 03 2008
southernweirdo

Without giving too much away, the roots of this story come from “Grettir’s Saga.” My favorite of those I have taken the time to study.

8 03 2008
grayrose76

Ohhh nice. Which saga? I’d like to read this!

You don’t have to chop it up to fit the length. There are many markets friendly to Scandinavian-inspired pieces.

8 03 2008
grayrose76

Ohhh nice. Which saga? I’d like to read this!

You don’t have to chop it up to fit the length. There are many markets friendly to Scandinavian-inspired pieces.

8 03 2008
grayrose76

Ohhh nice. Which saga? I’d like to read this!

You don’t have to chop it up to fit the length. There are many markets friendly to Scandinavian-inspired pieces.

9 03 2008
southernweirdo

Without giving too much away, the roots of this story come from “Grettir’s Saga.” My favorite of those I have taken the time to study.

8 03 2008
grayrose76

Ohhh nice. Which saga? I’d like to read this!

You don’t have to chop it up to fit the length. There are many markets friendly to Scandinavian-inspired pieces.

9 03 2008
southernweirdo

Without giving too much away, the roots of this story come from “Grettir’s Saga.” My favorite of those I have taken the time to study.

8 03 2008
grayrose76

Ohhh nice. Which saga? I’d like to read this!
You don’t have to chop it up to fit the length. There are many markets friendly to Scandinavian-inspired pieces.

9 03 2008
southernweirdo

Without giving too much away, the roots of this story come from “Grettir’s Saga.” My favorite of those I have taken the time to study.

9 03 2008
southernweirdo

Without giving too much away, the roots of this story come from “Grettir’s Saga.” My favorite of those I have taken the time to study.

9 03 2008
southernweirdo

Without giving too much away, the roots of this story come from “Grettir’s Saga.” My favorite of those I have taken the time to study.

Leave a Reply

