BE5K & Nepotism in the writing world

9 02 2008

My body’s aching a little from this morning’s run. It turned out to be a really nice day. We couldn’t have asked for better weather. There was quite a crowd. The BE5K is one of the events leading up to the Mercedes Marathon, so a lot of people use it as a warm-up for the real event tomorrow.  I’ll sit that one out; I’m not quite ready for a marathon.

I didn’t run as well as usual. I normally average about 27 minutes for a 5k. I think this time my time will be around 30 minutes. Once the official times are posted, I’ll link to it if anyone is interested in seeing how fast I don’t run.

I ran across an interesting story in IGMS about Nepotism in Science Fiction. It raises some interesting points. However, it got me thinking. Should this be a surprise? There is some truth to the old adage, “It’s not what you know, but who you know.” Right or wrong, it is a reality. 

Think about any business. Most industries are full of various professional organizations and clubs.  Professionals network. That’s how people move ahead in any industry. Why would people think writing is any different?

This isn’t to say that writers using their connections don’t have talent. My wife is a nurse, we have friends who are doctors. Just because I know some doctors, I do not think they are going to hire me as a resident on a floor anytime soon. I have some friends who are software programmers, just because I know them doesn’t mean I know jack about code. You still have to know your craft/industry/art. 

As an editor, I’ve turned down stuff from people I know and think very highly of. If it doesn’t meet my needs I’ll pass on it regardless of their background, SFWA/HWA memberships,  past sales or novels. But at the same time, it doesn’t hurt to be cordial and try to keep from burning bridges.

So far, my experience with other writers and editors has always been positive. When an editor turns down my work, there are no hard feelings. I truly appreciate the fact that they took the time to read my story. Just by doing the work (writing, editing, submitting, moping a little bit after a rejection, licking my wounds, revising, submitting again, writing another story, submitting again) you gradually get to know people (especially through submitting/querying). It’s how this and any industry works. If you do it well enough for long enough, people take notice. 

Also, the simple fact that we all write and/or edit means that we have at least one common interest. Aren’t common interests part of what forges friendships in the first place? 

Actions

Information

16 responses

9 02 2008
markdeniz

Ooh, ooh, we’ve got stuff in common: writing, editing, running and Radiohead!

*grins*

My running time seems as slow as you as we (the wife and I) usually do 10k in an hour.

I agree with your comments about writing and editing and rejecting and accepting and stuff wholeheartedly. There are no absolutes in the writing world as there are so many variables for books and publishers. And then there’s that good old taste thing that seems to dominate.

Thanks for the link too, enjoyable!

9 02 2008
southernweirdo

“10k in an hour.” That’s good! I’d be hard-pressed to do that right now. I’ve let myself get a little out of shape due to a simple lack of time since the birth of our 2nd boy.

There is that “taste thing.” That’s probably the toughest shell to crack as a writer simply because it is completely intangible.

You can get to know an editor’s taste by reading previous issues or anthologies they have put out. You can read other books from a publisher to get a feel for their taste. But even after doing that, the editor’s taste may have evolved in a completely different direction from the time they accepted those works because it takes roughly six months to a year for most publishers to put out a story.

You hit the nail on the head, “there are no absolutes.”

9 02 2008
markdeniz

Ooh, ooh, we’ve got stuff in common: writing, editing, running and Radiohead!

*grins*

My running time seems as slow as you as we (the wife and I) usually do 10k in an hour.

I agree with your comments about writing and editing and rejecting and accepting and stuff wholeheartedly. There are no absolutes in the writing world as there are so many variables for books and publishers. And then there’s that good old taste thing that seems to dominate.

Thanks for the link too, enjoyable!

9 02 2008
southernweirdo

“10k in an hour.” That’s good! I’d be hard-pressed to do that right now. I’ve let myself get a little out of shape due to a simple lack of time since the birth of our 2nd boy.

There is that “taste thing.” That’s probably the toughest shell to crack as a writer simply because it is completely intangible.

You can get to know an editor’s taste by reading previous issues or anthologies they have put out. You can read other books from a publisher to get a feel for their taste. But even after doing that, the editor’s taste may have evolved in a completely different direction from the time they accepted those works because it takes roughly six months to a year for most publishers to put out a story.

You hit the nail on the head, “there are no absolutes.”

9 02 2008
markdeniz

Ooh, ooh, we’ve got stuff in common: writing, editing, running and Radiohead!

*grins*

My running time seems as slow as you as we (the wife and I) usually do 10k in an hour.

I agree with your comments about writing and editing and rejecting and accepting and stuff wholeheartedly. There are no absolutes in the writing world as there are so many variables for books and publishers. And then there’s that good old taste thing that seems to dominate.

Thanks for the link too, enjoyable!

9 02 2008
southernweirdo

“10k in an hour.” That’s good! I’d be hard-pressed to do that right now. I’ve let myself get a little out of shape due to a simple lack of time since the birth of our 2nd boy.

There is that “taste thing.” That’s probably the toughest shell to crack as a writer simply because it is completely intangible.

You can get to know an editor’s taste by reading previous issues or anthologies they have put out. You can read other books from a publisher to get a feel for their taste. But even after doing that, the editor’s taste may have evolved in a completely different direction from the time they accepted those works because it takes roughly six months to a year for most publishers to put out a story.

You hit the nail on the head, “there are no absolutes.”

9 02 2008
markdeniz

Ooh, ooh, we’ve got stuff in common: writing, editing, running and Radiohead!

*grins*

My running time seems as slow as you as we (the wife and I) usually do 10k in an hour.

I agree with your comments about writing and editing and rejecting and accepting and stuff wholeheartedly. There are no absolutes in the writing world as there are so many variables for books and publishers. And then there’s that good old taste thing that seems to dominate.

Thanks for the link too, enjoyable!

9 02 2008
markdeniz

Ooh, ooh, we’ve got stuff in common: writing, editing, running and Radiohead!

*grins*

My running time seems as slow as you as we (the wife and I) usually do 10k in an hour.

I agree with your comments about writing and editing and rejecting and accepting and stuff wholeheartedly. There are no absolutes in the writing world as there are so many variables for books and publishers. And then there’s that good old taste thing that seems to dominate.

Thanks for the link too, enjoyable!

9 02 2008
markdeniz

Ooh, ooh, we’ve got stuff in common: writing, editing, running and Radiohead!

*grins*

My running time seems as slow as you as we (the wife and I) usually do 10k in an hour.

I agree with your comments about writing and editing and rejecting and accepting and stuff wholeheartedly. There are no absolutes in the writing world as there are so many variables for books and publishers. And then there’s that good old taste thing that seems to dominate.

Thanks for the link too, enjoyable!

9 02 2008
southernweirdo

“10k in an hour.” That’s good! I’d be hard-pressed to do that right now. I’ve let myself get a little out of shape due to a simple lack of time since the birth of our 2nd boy.

There is that “taste thing.” That’s probably the toughest shell to crack as a writer simply because it is completely intangible.

You can get to know an editor’s taste by reading previous issues or anthologies they have put out. You can read other books from a publisher to get a feel for their taste. But even after doing that, the editor’s taste may have evolved in a completely different direction from the time they accepted those works because it takes roughly six months to a year for most publishers to put out a story.

You hit the nail on the head, “there are no absolutes.”

9 02 2008
markdeniz

Ooh, ooh, we’ve got stuff in common: writing, editing, running and Radiohead!

*grins*

My running time seems as slow as you as we (the wife and I) usually do 10k in an hour.

I agree with your comments about writing and editing and rejecting and accepting and stuff wholeheartedly. There are no absolutes in the writing world as there are so many variables for books and publishers. And then there’s that good old taste thing that seems to dominate.

Thanks for the link too, enjoyable!

9 02 2008
southernweirdo

“10k in an hour.” That’s good! I’d be hard-pressed to do that right now. I’ve let myself get a little out of shape due to a simple lack of time since the birth of our 2nd boy.

There is that “taste thing.” That’s probably the toughest shell to crack as a writer simply because it is completely intangible.

You can get to know an editor’s taste by reading previous issues or anthologies they have put out. You can read other books from a publisher to get a feel for their taste. But even after doing that, the editor’s taste may have evolved in a completely different direction from the time they accepted those works because it takes roughly six months to a year for most publishers to put out a story.

You hit the nail on the head, “there are no absolutes.”

9 02 2008
markdeniz

Ooh, ooh, we’ve got stuff in common: writing, editing, running and Radiohead!
*grins*
My running time seems as slow as you as we (the wife and I) usually do 10k in an hour.
I agree with your comments about writing and editing and rejecting and accepting and stuff wholeheartedly. There are no absolutes in the writing world as there are so many variables for books and publishers. And then there’s that good old taste thing that seems to dominate.
Thanks for the link too, enjoyable!

9 02 2008
southernweirdo

“10k in an hour.” That’s good! I’d be hard-pressed to do that right now. I’ve let myself get a little out of shape due to a simple lack of time since the birth of our 2nd boy.
There is that “taste thing.” That’s probably the toughest shell to crack as a writer simply because it is completely intangible.
You can get to know an editor’s taste by reading previous issues or anthologies they have put out. You can read other books from a publisher to get a feel for their taste. But even after doing that, the editor’s taste may have evolved in a completely different direction from the time they accepted those works because it takes roughly six months to a year for most publishers to put out a story.
You hit the nail on the head, “there are no absolutes.”

9 02 2008
southernweirdo

“10k in an hour.” That’s good! I’d be hard-pressed to do that right now. I’ve let myself get a little out of shape due to a simple lack of time since the birth of our 2nd boy.

There is that “taste thing.” That’s probably the toughest shell to crack as a writer simply because it is completely intangible.

You can get to know an editor’s taste by reading previous issues or anthologies they have put out. You can read other books from a publisher to get a feel for their taste. But even after doing that, the editor’s taste may have evolved in a completely different direction from the time they accepted those works because it takes roughly six months to a year for most publishers to put out a story.

You hit the nail on the head, “there are no absolutes.”

9 02 2008
southernweirdo

“10k in an hour.” That’s good! I’d be hard-pressed to do that right now. I’ve let myself get a little out of shape due to a simple lack of time since the birth of our 2nd boy.

There is that “taste thing.” That’s probably the toughest shell to crack as a writer simply because it is completely intangible.

You can get to know an editor’s taste by reading previous issues or anthologies they have put out. You can read other books from a publisher to get a feel for their taste. But even after doing that, the editor’s taste may have evolved in a completely different direction from the time they accepted those works because it takes roughly six months to a year for most publishers to put out a story.

You hit the nail on the head, “there are no absolutes.”

Leave a Reply

