How to give to KidOne and a couple open anthologies:

4 02 2008

A couple of weeks ago, I mentioned I was running in the upcoming BE5K to support KidOne Transportation. If anyone is interested in giving, they have set me up a secure donor site here.

I have received news of two upcoming anthologies. One that sounds very interesting is Eclipse Two edited by Jonathan Strahan. The first of his Eclipse anthologies was very well-received, with several stories being reprinted in various “Year’s Best” anthologies. The pay isn’t too shabby either for short stories.

Also, Forrest Armstrong is reading for an upcoming Surreal/Bizarro anthology. It will be published by Raw Dog Screaming Press. I am not sure what/if there will be any payment, but they do put out nicely packaged books through this small press. Your work should be in good company among other contemporary surreal/bizzaro authors, so there should be some nice exposure. Below I have copied the entry from Forrest’s MySpace blog:

” If you believe you are truly pushing boundaries in literature, I want to hear from you. This anthology is not meant for tame work – think along the lines of Burroughs, Joyce, etc… work that shattered the previous conceptions of writing:

I’m editing an anthology for Raw Dog Screaming Press to feature all the best avant-garde and experimental writing being made today, projected to be released early 2009. It’s shaping up to be a great collection with the work I’ve already gotten and now I’m opening to doors to all submissions. Please send your best, most avant-garde work to delarocha59@yahoo.com, or snail mail to:

Forrest Armstrong
76 Linden Street
Needham, MA 02492

I’m looking for stories around 1,000-5,000 words, and I’m willing to consider poetry two; up to five of these at a time. If you think you have some work that may be a good fit for the collection, please send it to me! And spread the word about the project to other writers who may be interested, so we can ensure that this collection of as good as we can make it. I look forward to hearing from all of you!”

Actions

Information

24 responses

18 02 2008
grayrose76

Are you going to submit a story to Eclipse2, by the way? It seems from Strahan’s blog that he is a bit overwhelmed by the amount of submissions…
cheers,
Rose

19 02 2008
southernweirdo

Rose,

I was considering it. I have a science fiction story I was thinking about submitting as that seems to be what he is looking for, but it needs some revision first. There are a few logic problems I haven’t worked out yet.

I saw you sent one in on the Speculations “Submission Report” board — good luck!

19 02 2008
grayrose76

Good luck with the edit!

I sent them “Imperfect verse”, which is everything they did not ask for. It is weird, it is short, a fantasy, and poetic. It would have been good for Clockwork Phoenix had I written it earlier.

So I am looking forward to a rejection πŸ™‚ I had to try this anthology and this was the only story I had that wasn’t out yet…

18 02 2008
grayrose76

Are you going to submit a story to Eclipse2, by the way? It seems from Strahan’s blog that he is a bit overwhelmed by the amount of submissions…
cheers,
Rose

19 02 2008
southernweirdo

Rose,

I was considering it. I have a science fiction story I was thinking about submitting as that seems to be what he is looking for, but it needs some revision first. There are a few logic problems I haven’t worked out yet.

I saw you sent one in on the Speculations “Submission Report” board — good luck!

19 02 2008
grayrose76

Good luck with the edit!

I sent them “Imperfect verse”, which is everything they did not ask for. It is weird, it is short, a fantasy, and poetic. It would have been good for Clockwork Phoenix had I written it earlier.

So I am looking forward to a rejection πŸ™‚ I had to try this anthology and this was the only story I had that wasn’t out yet…

18 02 2008
grayrose76

Are you going to submit a story to Eclipse2, by the way? It seems from Strahan’s blog that he is a bit overwhelmed by the amount of submissions…
cheers,
Rose

19 02 2008
southernweirdo

Rose,

I was considering it. I have a science fiction story I was thinking about submitting as that seems to be what he is looking for, but it needs some revision first. There are a few logic problems I haven’t worked out yet.

I saw you sent one in on the Speculations “Submission Report” board — good luck!

19 02 2008
grayrose76

Good luck with the edit!

I sent them “Imperfect verse”, which is everything they did not ask for. It is weird, it is short, a fantasy, and poetic. It would have been good for Clockwork Phoenix had I written it earlier.

So I am looking forward to a rejection πŸ™‚ I had to try this anthology and this was the only story I had that wasn’t out yet…

18 02 2008
grayrose76

Are you going to submit a story to Eclipse2, by the way? It seems from Strahan’s blog that he is a bit overwhelmed by the amount of submissions…
cheers,
Rose

18 02 2008
grayrose76

Are you going to submit a story to Eclipse2, by the way? It seems from Strahan’s blog that he is a bit overwhelmed by the amount of submissions…
cheers,
Rose

18 02 2008
grayrose76

Are you going to submit a story to Eclipse2, by the way? It seems from Strahan’s blog that he is a bit overwhelmed by the amount of submissions…
cheers,
Rose

19 02 2008
southernweirdo

Rose,

I was considering it. I have a science fiction story I was thinking about submitting as that seems to be what he is looking for, but it needs some revision first. There are a few logic problems I haven’t worked out yet.

I saw you sent one in on the Speculations “Submission Report” board — good luck!

19 02 2008
grayrose76

Good luck with the edit!

I sent them “Imperfect verse”, which is everything they did not ask for. It is weird, it is short, a fantasy, and poetic. It would have been good for Clockwork Phoenix had I written it earlier.

So I am looking forward to a rejection πŸ™‚ I had to try this anthology and this was the only story I had that wasn’t out yet…

18 02 2008
grayrose76

Are you going to submit a story to Eclipse2, by the way? It seems from Strahan’s blog that he is a bit overwhelmed by the amount of submissions…
cheers,
Rose

19 02 2008
southernweirdo

Rose,

I was considering it. I have a science fiction story I was thinking about submitting as that seems to be what he is looking for, but it needs some revision first. There are a few logic problems I haven’t worked out yet.

I saw you sent one in on the Speculations “Submission Report” board — good luck!

19 02 2008
grayrose76

Good luck with the edit!

I sent them “Imperfect verse”, which is everything they did not ask for. It is weird, it is short, a fantasy, and poetic. It would have been good for Clockwork Phoenix had I written it earlier.

So I am looking forward to a rejection πŸ™‚ I had to try this anthology and this was the only story I had that wasn’t out yet…

18 02 2008
grayrose76

Are you going to submit a story to Eclipse2, by the way? It seems from Strahan’s blog that he is a bit overwhelmed by the amount of submissions…
cheers,
Rose

19 02 2008
southernweirdo

Rose,
I was considering it. I have a science fiction story I was thinking about submitting as that seems to be what he is looking for, but it needs some revision first. There are a few logic problems I haven’t worked out yet.
I saw you sent one in on the Speculations “Submission Report” board — good luck!

19 02 2008
grayrose76

Good luck with the edit!
I sent them “Imperfect verse”, which is everything they did not ask for. It is weird, it is short, a fantasy, and poetic. It would have been good for Clockwork Phoenix had I written it earlier.
So I am looking forward to a rejection πŸ™‚ I had to try this anthology and this was the only story I had that wasn’t out yet…

19 02 2008
southernweirdo

Rose,

I was considering it. I have a science fiction story I was thinking about submitting as that seems to be what he is looking for, but it needs some revision first. There are a few logic problems I haven’t worked out yet.

I saw you sent one in on the Speculations “Submission Report” board — good luck!

19 02 2008
southernweirdo

Rose,

I was considering it. I have a science fiction story I was thinking about submitting as that seems to be what he is looking for, but it needs some revision first. There are a few logic problems I haven’t worked out yet.

I saw you sent one in on the Speculations “Submission Report” board — good luck!

19 02 2008
grayrose76

Good luck with the edit!

I sent them “Imperfect verse”, which is everything they did not ask for. It is weird, it is short, a fantasy, and poetic. It would have been good for Clockwork Phoenix had I written it earlier.

So I am looking forward to a rejection πŸ™‚ I had to try this anthology and this was the only story I had that wasn’t out yet…

19 02 2008
grayrose76

Good luck with the edit!

I sent them “Imperfect verse”, which is everything they did not ask for. It is weird, it is short, a fantasy, and poetic. It would have been good for Clockwork Phoenix had I written it earlier.

So I am looking forward to a rejection πŸ™‚ I had to try this anthology and this was the only story I had that wasn’t out yet…

Leave a Reply

